Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby marceloramone » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:03

Hello,

I can't write accents in KDE...

The keyboard is in spanish, KDE is in spanish but same problem i had in Sabayon 13.04 is present in 13.08: I'M unable to write with accents in KDE apps, for example: kwrite » atenci´on atenc{on
Here in chromium no problem: atención conclusión organización
I also changed the keyboard map using various models but no case.

Any idea about this problem?
marceloramone
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:54
Location: Maldonado, Uruguay

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby pandev92 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:55

Six months ago I had the same error...with kde on sabayon
pandev92
Young Hen
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 19:01

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Aug 14, 2013 0:29

Try the following:

Code: Select all
equo remove --nodeps --ask ibus

(For details see kde aplications without accents [Solved] and Dead keys not working in several applications [Solved]).
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 8077
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby Antidieu » Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:29

Fitzcarraldo wrote:Try the following:

Code: Select all
equo remove --nodeps --ask ibus


That did the trick for me. Thanks, Fitzcarraldo.

P.S. This thread should be marked as solved.
Antidieu
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:45

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:41

Hallo guys, hallo Fitz.
I had the same problem with the accents here in KDE, and I solved it the way you've described with removing ibus.
Now working for KDE and konsole of KDE also.
But still not working in a real terminal, opened with Ctrl+Alt+F1. The name (e.g.) "Réne" still appears in terminal as:
Code: Select all
R'ene

How to fix that, pls?

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby manifesto » Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:43

It is a bit strange to have to remove ibus.
I need ibus to write non roman languages and I can as well write accents in KDE.
was ibus started when you add the problem or just installed ?
manifesto
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 22:21

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:07

I don't really know, ibus was started (but I assume because remove effects that accents can be written in KDE now).
But definitely it was installed, because "equo remove..." asked me, and finally removed it.
Exactly, in a Virtualbox, I have a some days older Sabayon, KDE 64 bit, Daily Build from 23/08/2013 and in this version the accents were shown correctly in a KDE application. To mention: I did NOT upgrade this in Virtualbox.
So, I assume, the problem with lost accents in KDE appeared with upgrades of (many) packages of my Host in last days,
including a new kernel (3.10.9-r1) and a new KDE version (4.11) now.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Sabayon 13.08 KDE - Can't write accents.

Postby Antidieu » Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:52

It is in fact possible to write accents with IBus installed. You have to configure it to use your keyboard layout (in my case, Spanish - Latin American). Problem is IBus not being started although installed so you have to add it to Autostart.
Antidieu
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 5:45


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest