ATI Woes (again) [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

ATI Woes (again) [Solved]

Postby Ponder » Wed Jul 17, 2013 18:59

Just updated this week's large group.
When any x display is started all I get is black screen with cursor.

I've reinstalled kernel (linux-sabayon-3.9.7) and associated headers, and the matching ati-drivers. There are no conflicting kernels, headers nor drivers.

If I remove /etc/X11/xorg.conf I get a display, albeit 1280x960 with no choice but that @ 77Hz. My monitor runs best on 1280x1024 @ 60 Hz but there isn't that option. amdcccle won't run because it's not running the correct driver (though it's better than nothing).

If I try even the basic ati-config --initial setup it still gives the same black screen with cursor.

Card is Radeon 5400, so supported, machine is AMD 64.

/var/log/Xorg.0.log shows DRI startup succeeded, then nothing. No clues.

Is anyone else having this issue or am I on my own?
Last edited by Ponder on Wed Jul 17, 2013 22:21, edited 1 time in total.
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby lxnay » Wed Jul 17, 2013 19:31

Given that the opensource xf86-video-ati drivers will get much faster (and power management friendly) soon (Linux 3.11 and Mesa 9.2), if you don't need any fancy OpenGL 4.x or OpenCL feature, you may consider to switch to them.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby Ponder » Wed Jul 17, 2013 19:53

I tried the opensource drivers when ati stopped supporting my last graphics card... which is why I bought this one. I can't seem to get them to load even as an alternative at the moment either... very tired, been up since early hours, getting KMS Modeswitching not supported error. Searching is running me in circles, even though I know I've done this before :/
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby Ponder » Wed Jul 17, 2013 20:57

Finally got a decent resolution by removing the ati-drivers and rebooting. With xorg.conf removed I get a display but, and this is why I really want the proprietary drivers:

$ glxgears
11 frames in 5.3 seconds = 2.072 FPS
13 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2.596 FPS
13 frames in 5.2 seconds = 2.493 FPS
12 frames in 5.4 seconds = 2.220 FPS
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby lxnay » Wed Jul 17, 2013 21:04

Are you sure that Direct Rendering is correctly working?
What does glxinfo say? Is "eselect mesa" configured correctly? Did you enable KMS (it's enabled by default, unless you pass "nomodeset" through the boot command line).
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby Ponder » Wed Jul 17, 2013 21:33

eselect mesa set for 64 bit gallium for Evergreen.
Kernel boot line is:
Code: Select all
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-3.9.0-sabayon root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/sda2 dolvm init=/linuxrc splash=silent,theme:sabayon console=tty1 quiet vga=0x366 resume=swap:/dev/sda3 real_resume=/dev/sda3


Speed seems OK now, and even got KDE native Desktop Effects working well, so don't feel so bad about losing Compiz Fusion.

I'm already satisfied, now if I could just get Portal working with Steam (native Linux) I'd be happy :)
I'll search out the errors tomorrow, now I'm going to relax.
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again)

Postby Ponder » Wed Jul 17, 2013 22:21

It was an s3tc problem. Solved by installing media-libs/libtxc_dxtn.
It's not perfect, fairly jittery at times, but it is far faster, and thus more playable, than proprietary. I'm happy! :)
Thanks for the pointer :)
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again) [Solved]

Postby albfneto » Wed Jul 17, 2013 23:22

I had de same problems of you.

1) For fusion icon,you may dowgrade the package protobuf and try to open fusion-icon:

Code: Select all
sudo equo i --ask --nodeps dev-libs/protobuf-2.4.1


Does not carry the command above without --nodeps option! or will be have broken packages.



2) For the drivers. in the computer at the University, i use ATI GPU for chemical calculations, therefore, it is not possible to use the free driver.
I was able to activate the driver in the new kernel, 3.10.1. Not easy, by may be tried.

3)Procedure:

3a) remove all packages thay you have for the free driver:

Code: Select all
# equo rm xf86-video-ati --nodeps --configfiles


do not remove mesa.

3b) check what is the newest kernel:

Code: Select all
equo s linux-sabayon


in my system is 3.10.1

3c) IMPORTANT: check if the conditions in this post was satisfied (except for kernel 3.9 ou upper, no more necessary to downgrade, new kernels working!):

https://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=28808&p=162845&hilit=step+by+step+ATI

3d) If satisfied (radeon blacklist, xorg removed and regenerated etc...) use kernel switcher for change the kernel:

Code: Select all
$ kernel-switch list
see the name of the newest kernel
# kernel-switcher switch complete name and version of the new kernel (linux-sabayon-3.10.1 in my system)


If you was using the prop. drivers in the old kernel, the kernel-switch will install the new drivers properly.

3d) Set the kernel to the newest:

Code: Select all
$ eselect kernel list
see the number of the newest kernel
# eselect kernel set (number of the newest kernel)


3e) set the bzimage:

Code: Select all
$ eselect bzimage list
# eselect bzimage set (number of the newest bzimage)


3f) set the 3D acceleration:

Code: Select all
$ eselect opengl list

You may still in xorg, not ATI!, in this case:

# eselect opengl set ati
# eselect opencl set amd


3g) if you use KDE, set the qtgraphics system:

Code: Select all
$ eselect qtgraphicssystem list

if your is ex.  in this manner (no raster)
Available Qt Graphics Systems:
  [1]   native *
  [2]   opengl (experimental)
  [3]   raster (default)

Then set to raster (since native not works well and opengl is unstable)

# eselect qtgraphicssystem set 3


in KDE, click with the left bUtton on the mouse, then "More Actions"; "Special Configurations of Windows", "Advanced" and set Composite to "OpenGL" and QT graphics to "raster".

4) Finally, check if you is working in new kernel and with the newest ATI drivers and without free drivers, with the commands:

Code: Select all
eselect kernel list
see if the kernel is the newest
equo s linux-sabayon
see if the newest kernel is installed
equo s ati-drivers
see if the newest ati drivers are installed for the newest kernel


5) Remenber to put the "nomodeset" cheat-code in the boot kernel line and you may reboot for tests

6) Mask the kernels, the drivers, also the free driver, and the dependencies fo no more upgrade:

Code: Select all
# equo mask sabayon-linux ati-drivers xf86-video-ati


if you want you may unmask further.

7) see my screen. This is an phenon, 8 cores, Kernel 3.10.1 with Proprietary ATI drivers working good

http://www.brimg.com/uploads/_neovodriv.png
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: ATI Woes (again) [Solved]

Postby Ponder » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:18

Looks like a lot of work, but worth it if you need to keep those drivers. For myself, the opensource drivers are currently working better than the proprietary drivers ever did :)
Ponder
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 21:30

Re: ATI Woes (again) [Solved]

Postby albfneto » Thu Jul 18, 2013 18:39

for me is mandatory, since in the University (here) i use ATI GPU for scientific calculations.

months ago i tried the free drivers, working well but without GPU.

in my house is easier, since my Atlhon use NVIDIA.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron