can't boot after increasing memory [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

can't boot after increasing memory [Solved]

Postby laminko » Sun Jan 27, 2013 17:42

Hi,

Sabayon can't boot after increasing memory 4GB to 8GB. So, I decided to boot from DVD. It also can't boot. How should I do?
I am stucking with that.

System info: sabayon 10 kde amd64, 8gb ram, dualcore 2.3 ghz t4500, acer 4736z

Thanks in advance,
LMK
Last edited by laminko on Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:51, edited 2 times in total.
laminko
Young Hen
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: can't boot after increasing memory

Postby laminko » Sun Jan 27, 2013 19:50

Does it relate to grub2 or uefi?

Thanks,
Lmk
laminko
Young Hen
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: can't boot after increasing memory

Postby dunsurfin » Sun Jan 27, 2013 20:44

Can you boot into any other OS?
I'm sure you've checked that the memory is the right way round and well seated but it's always worth checking. Another check would be to swap the original memory into the new memory holder and VV. Can you do a memtest?
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: can't boot after increasing memory

Postby laminko » Sun Jan 27, 2013 21:16

Also can't boot on ubuntu 12.10 amd64. Now, i'm running memtest via sabayon dvd.

Thanks,
Lmk
laminko
Young Hen
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: can't boot after increasing memory

Postby abs » Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:04

Check bios options and set memory speed at 1066 (original freq).
Some bioses can't run with memories at 1333 or 1666
abs
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 13:46

Re: can't boot after increasing memory

Postby laminko » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:39

I tested with memtest, it's OK.

@abs: My BIOS can't be set any value (Memory, CPU, etc...).

I removed one DIMM. Now, running with single DIMM (4GB card is 1333 but working with 1066) and working usual. My laptop may support only 1066 according to http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/notebook/2010/acer/aspire/aspire4736z/aspire4736zsp2.shtml.

Thanks in advance,
LMK
laminko
Young Hen
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron