Page 3 of 4

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 16:19
by Sonnersen
Ok, I fixed with the above sequence, simply changing installing this package:

x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.8.0-sabayon

Instead off 3.8.8.

Code: Select all

 [email protected] ~ $ uname -r
3.8.0-sabayon
[email protected] ~ $ glxgears
6864 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1372.768 FPS
[email protected] ~ $ equo search ati-drivers
>>  @@ Cercando...
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.2.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.2.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Installato:    versione: Non installato ~ tag: N/A ~ revisione: N/A
>>         Slot:          1,3.2.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.3.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.3.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Installato:    versione: Non installato ~ tag: N/A ~ revisione: N/A
>>         Slot:          1,3.3.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.4.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.4.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Installato:    versione: Non installato ~ tag: N/A ~ revisione: N/A
>>         Slot:          1,3.4.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.5.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.5.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Installato:    versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.5.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Slot:          1,3.5.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.6.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.6.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Installato:    versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.6.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 0
>>         Slot:          1,3.6.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.7.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.7.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 1
>>         Installato:    versione: Non installato ~ tag: N/A ~ revisione: N/A
>>         Slot:          1,3.7.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>      @@ Pacchetto: x11-drivers/ati-drivers-13.3_beta2#3.8.0-sabayon branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly] 
>>         Disponibile:   versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.8.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 2
>>         Installato:    versione: 13.3_beta2 ~ tag: 3.8.0-sabayon ~ revisione: 2
>>         Slot:          1,3.8.0-sabayon
>>         Homepage:      http://www.amd.com 
>>         Descrizione:   Ati precompiled drivers for Radeon 
>>                        Evergreen (HD5000 Series) and 
>>                        newer chipsets 
>>         Licenza:       AMD GPL-2 QPL-1.0
>>  Keyword:  ati-drivers
>>  Trovati:  7 voci
[email protected] ~ $ ^C
[email protected] ~ $ 
Should I uninstall ati-drivers connected to old kernel?

Thank you again

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Thu May 02, 2013 17:31
by anomaly65
yes, uninstall the old drivers.then install the new ones. reboot and all should be ok. check first post and make certain items like "nomodeset" are in place. :-)

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Fri May 03, 2013 11:02
by Sonnersen
Thank you

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Sat May 04, 2013 2:48
by anomaly65
Yes, sorry, was a quick "update" on directions. Install the latest that matches the kernel :)

Good luck!
andy

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 6:48
by fkef
Just a few questions

Has anyone tested to install the 13.4 drivers availible in the limbo repo?
Is it still necessary to do all these steps to install the 13.4 drivers?
Anyone know when the 13.4 drivers will be pushed t the stable repo?

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 20:05
by anomaly65
13.4 just released today. can't say I'm any more impressed with ati than my irritation with nvidia.

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Thu May 09, 2013 20:09
by albfneto
Thanks a lot!
Solved my problem with the ATI, also.

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Mon May 13, 2013 7:32
by Sonnersen
Hello Guys,
after the latest upgrade (kernel 3.8.10 and newest ati-drivers), i've blackscreen before login.

I'm trying to fix it using equo command in recovery mode, but seem it can't work:

equo update:
invalid filesystem encoding ANSI_X3.4-1968 - must be UTF-8.Make sure to set
LC_ALL, LANG, LANGUAGE to valid UTF-8 VALUES
Please execute LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/equo

I tried: LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/equo

But it sais again invalid filesystem encoding etc. etc.

??

Thanks

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Mon May 13, 2013 15:24
by Fitzcarraldo
Sonnersen, see Re: en_GB language missing after install., obviously replacing the keymap code and locale codes with the appropriate ones for your locale. Once your sort out your locale, you should be able to run the equo update command. I've had this happen on several machines, and sorting out the locale does the trick.

Re: step-by-step solution for most users with ATI cards [Sol

Posted: Tue May 21, 2013 6:10
by anomaly65
Sonnersen, the easiest way to get past that issue (for me) has been to boot via USB (livedvd or ISO onto usb via unetbootin in my case) and mount your root partition, chroot to it, and do the mods (as updated in first post today again...it also now includes all the various additions mentioned in the thread) like so:

open a konsole (running on livedvd) and su to root (no password required on livedvd) then ....
(this is tailored with mount options for an SSD with /dev/sda1 being the / partition on my system)

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/sabayon
mount -o discard /dev/sda1 /mnt/sabayon
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/sabayon/dev
mount -o bind /sys /mnt/sabayon/sys
mount -o bind /proc /mnt/sabayon/proc
chroot /mnt/sabayon /bin/bash
at this point, you can go back to first entry in the thread and follow the instructions as need be. Once or twice I've found /etc/resolv.conf being empty (can be copied from the running livedvd or edited as you like).

Once done with the kernel and ati-drivers install, simply

Code: Select all

exit
umount /mnt/sabayon/proc
umount /mnt/sabayon/dev
umount /mnt/sabayon/sys
umount /mnt/sabayon/
Then reboot. Hopefully all should be well. Equo will give you warnings about running "live" as such, but if your hardware is not terribly overclocked and is reliable, it should work just fine.

Cheers,
andy