amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m [Solved]

Postby marcusdavidus » Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:03

Imposible to run 3d on 3.6 or 3.5 kernel
not fglx not radeon
only way i found to run x at all its to install 12.10 drivers set everything to fglrx (eselect and xorg) reboot to gentoo=nox than
uinstall ati-drivers than reboot to x kdm starts but video graphic is slow and gp going hot increible .
with fxlrx drivers its frozing (got nomodeset) with radeon drivers seg faults . no freeking clue how to run sabayon and i cannot use actual solution cu it will burn
Last edited by marcusdavidus on Sat Dec 29, 2012 19:06, edited 2 times in total.
marcusdavidus
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:56

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby picard12 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 20:22

I have the same issue whith the same hw, it's happen ather the latest update whith new DRM and xf86-video-ati. today, 9th dec..
I'm using the open video driver..
picard12
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:26

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby anomaly65 » Fri Dec 21, 2012 21:56

Hi,

You may have run into the problem in that the radeon (open source) module gets loaded, and adding ati-drivers won't work correctly. I went through similar (but less drastic) problem.

See thread: https://forum.sabayon.org/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=28585

Main thing that allowed me to fix was to blacklist the radeon driver in the file /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

add the line:
Code: Select all
 blacklist radeon


Then do the following as root:

Code: Select all
equo remove ati-drivers
equo install ati-drivers media-video/amdcccle


In /etc/X11/xorg.conf you might add in the Device section that lists the video card hardware:

Code: Select all
Option  "UseFastTLS" "1"

Once you reboot, the ati-drivers (from AMD/ATI) should work.

open a console window, and as root:

Code: Select all
/opt/bin/amdcccle


Which will allow you to set many parameters and preferences for the ATI video card.

Unfortunately, I'm not certain what the proper fix to utilize the open source driver is (needed for older ATI video cards). For older cards, their are a number of other posts on the subject, but x-setup (included in startup by default) may handle that.


Good luck!!
--
Use handrails on stairs. A nasty fall face first changes your point of view quickly, and mine permanently :-)
anomaly65
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 15:37

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby picard12 » Sat Dec 22, 2012 7:48

this is the right way!!!! thanks a lot.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
picard12
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:26

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby reegroth » Sat Dec 22, 2012 13:37

thx anomaly65
Try and then answer if goes =
reegroth
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 10:43

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby picard12 » Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:16

I am sad. My problem persists, despite having the 3D working, the mouse cursor disappears when brought to the side and bottom margins. What's going on?
picard12
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:26

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby marcusdavidus » Sat Dec 29, 2012 17:15

oki i managed to get x working but same like someone before me cursor disapears each time leave screen never come back same my yakuake stop respond to f12 key for some reazon
marcusdavidus
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:56

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby picard12 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 17:18

picard12
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:26

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m

Postby marcusdavidus » Sat Dec 29, 2012 17:42

FIXED

solution for cursor disapears

ctrl +alt +f1 login as root
than

rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
/etc/init.d/xdm stop
aticonfig --initial
/etc/init.d/xdm start

cursor sit where it belongs everything works acceleration works

god damned thanx mate for slution with blacklisting this dumb radeon alot of times without x on ths laptop its why im always using freekign nvidia on desktops. runing saby there for years nevr single problem
xorg.conf made by atiinitial if u want
Code: Select all
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "aticonfig Layout"
   Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Module"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   Option       "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
   Option       "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
   Option       "DPMS" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Driver      "fglrx"
   BusID       "PCI:0:1:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
   Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
   Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection
marcusdavidus
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 8:56

Re: amd a6-3420m + hd 7670m [Solved]

Postby picard12 » Sat Dec 29, 2012 18:55

Like my fix..with only a working ID :D
picard12
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:26

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest