Page 1 of 1

AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon [Solved]

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 13:39
by AleksK
Hardware: MB GigaByte GA-870A-USB3 rev3.1, CPU AMD Phenome II 925, Video Nvidia GeForce 560GTX.
Soft: Sabayon 7 KDE, Ubuntu 11.10
Everything worked well, then I bought a AMD FX 8120 - not loaded both systems, after GRUB black screen and computer freezes.
Windows 7 x64 works fine.

Sorry for my english, I'm from Russia, and writing through Google Translate

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 14:00
by maulbongo
Hi AleksK,

For Sabayon,

go to /etc/X11/ and there erase the xorg.conf.
When booting Sabayon the Graficcard detection starts and the new xorg.conf will be generated and then this should work proper.

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 14:35
by AleksK
I have not changed the video card, I changed the CPU, system freezes before loading X. With the old CPU AMD Phenom II 925 system is working properly. The problem appeared after installing a new CPU AMD FX 8120.

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 15:23
by maulbongo
Ah sorry, thought it's an gfx.
Do you have a spare hdd and try to install Sabayon there, to see if this works?

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 15:56
by AleksK
I tried to create a live usb with sabayon 7 x64 and sabayon daily x64. And the result is the same - after GRUB, black screen and then computer freezes

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 16:06
by AleksK
I do not understand the problem. Phoronix tested AMD FX 8150 on the motherboard with AMD890, and it worked fine with ubuntu. So linux works on AMD FX.

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 0:47
by batvink
yes, it does work with Linux.
Here's a Gentoo user with the same Processor., also having issues, but not a freezing Computer.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-90 ... 4d4bcf203c
maybe the discussion is helpfull for you...

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:25
by AleksK
I was able to solve this problem. I disabled the AMD C1E in BIOS

Re: AMD FX 8120 and Sabayon

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:41
by maulbongo
Hi AleksK,

Good to hear I'll keep this in mind.