No sound with pulse, oss works [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

No sound with pulse, oss works [Solved]

Postby xaffu » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:53

Hi,

I seem to have a very strange case I don't fully understand. My Phonon is configured to use PulseAudio Sound Server and testing this output device works. When I use mplayer, I have sound with oss driver, but not when I use pulse. My alsa is also configured to use pulse (config below), so I have no sound with alsa output as well.

I am not sure what is wrong, but this is the problem I am facing since I've updated about 3 weeks ago I think...

Thanks in advance for help!

/etc/asound.conf:
Code: Select all
pcm.!default { type pulse }
ctl.!default { type pulse }
pcm.pulse { type pulse }
ctl.pulse { type pulse }
Last edited by xaffu on Sun May 08, 2011 19:40, edited 1 time in total.
xaffu
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:46

Re: No sound with pulse, oss works

Postby gabvil » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:52

Did you try perhaps looking at the "alsamixer" sound levels?
Put that on terminal and select with F6 your card, that will show you all the channels you have.
Maybe this is related to some issue i have in the past, Pulse channels and volume settings show pretty good but alsamixer doesn't.

The channels with a "MM" are muted, pressing the "M" key should do the job.

PCM and Master must be enabled.

Regards.
·Intel e2180@2.0/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel e2130@1.7/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel e5200@2.5/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: No sound with pulse, oss works

Postby xaffu » Sun May 08, 2011 19:39

Sound levels were fine. I am not sure about this, but I've solved this problem by removing alsa.conf completely. This changed my KDE audio configuration and pulseaudo soundserver is no longer used. Now audio works perfectly (even with pulse as audio output).

Sorry for misleading about updates, turns out it was my tinkering with alsa configuration that caused the problem.
xaffu
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:46

Re: No sound with pulse, oss works [Solved]

Postby gabvil » Sun May 08, 2011 23:13

Well, glad you solved it. Rare thing, alsa with pulse used to give me problems too, when passed from a Xfce installation to Gnome. :mrgreen:

Regards.
·Intel e2180@2.0/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel e2130@1.7/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel e5200@2.5/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron