Dual graphic card

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

heat78
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 13:09

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by heat78 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 20:39

Hi to all,
i use Sabayon from version X but recently i have a problem with my dual graphic card laptop. I know that acpi_call can swich-off my ATI card but i can't find the script. Someone can help me, please?

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Mon Nov 04, 2013 1:07

heat78, I don't use it myself, but by searching I see that acpi_call is a kernel module and there is a package in the Entropy repository:

https://packages.sabayon.org/quicksearch?q=acpi_call

So I suggest you install the package:

Code: Select all

equo install acpi_call
then try loading the module:

Code: Select all

modprobe acpi_call
then run the script:

Code: Select all

turn_off_gpu.sh
All done as root user. If you're lucky it will turn off the GPU. To turn the GPU on again, reboot.

heat78
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 13:09

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by heat78 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:17

Hi Fitzcarraldo, thanks for your help but i'm not lucky because the terminal doesn't find the script!

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue Nov 12, 2013 12:02

See if you can find it. To do that, you can use a simple tool such as locate:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password:
# equo install mlocate
# updatedb
# locate turn_off
# locate _gpu

heat78
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 13:09

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by heat78 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 15:14

Hi Fitzcarraldo, i use locate but it give me no respose, so ithink i don't have the script installed on my Sabayon box.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Fri Nov 29, 2013 22:46

Hmm... I suppose you could try installing acpi_call via Portage. Try the following as root user in a Konsole/Terminal window:

Code: Select all

equo install git
emerge --sync
layman -S
layman -d sabayon
layman -d sabayon-distro
layman -a sabayon
layman -a sabayon-distro
emerge -1v acpi_call
equo rescue spmsync
updatedb
locate turn_off_gpu

specialworld83
Simple Hen
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:16
Contact:

Re: Dual graphic card

Post by specialworld83 » Sat Nov 30, 2013 10:47

The optimus support for linux with nvidia cards is already natively under Linux for a while, here are the steps to do:

attention, you have to be super user to perform the procedure

Code: Select all

equo install linux-sabayon ( 3.9.x all later version )
equo install sabayon-source ( kernel 3.9.x all later version)
equo install nvidia drivers 319.23 ( 3.9.x-sabayon all later version)
equo install acpi_call ( kernel 3.9.x all later version) 
equo install modesetting
Now other procedure to be performed:

Code: Select all

cd /etc/X11
mv xorg.conf xorg.conf.back
vi xorg.conf
paste this code:

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout"
    Screen 0 "nvidia"
    Inactive "intel"
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Driver "nvidia"
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier "nvidia"
    Device "nvidia"
    # Uncomment this line if your computer has no display devices connected to
    # the NVIDIA GPU.  Leave it commented if you have display devices
    # connected to the NVIDIA GPU that you would like to use.
    Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier "intel"
    Driver "modesetting"
    BusID  "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier "intel"
    Device "intel"
EndSection 
Save file, and new procedure:

Code: Select all

cd /home/user/
vi .xprofile
paste this code:

Code: Select all

xrandr --setprovideroutputsource modesetting NVIDIA-0
xrandr --auto

Code: Select all

cp -rv /home/user/.xprofile /root

Code: Select all

eselect opengl set nvidia

Code: Select all

equo install lightdm

Code: Select all

cd /etc/conf.d
vi xdm
change:

Code: Select all

# We always try and start X on a static VT. The various DMs normally default
# to using VT7. If you wish to use the xdm init script, then you should ensure
# that the VT checked is the same VT your DM wants to use. We do this check to
# ensure that you haven't accidentally configured something to run on the VT
# in your /etc/inittab file so that you don't get a dead keyboard.
CHECKVT=7
# What display manager do you use ?  [ xdm | gdm | kdm | lxdm | gpe | entrance ]
# NOTE: If this is set in /etc/rc.conf, that setting will override this one.
DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm" 
in

Code: Select all

# We always try and start X on a static VT. The various DMs normally default
# to using VT7. If you wish to use the xdm init script, then you should ensure
# that the VT checked is the same VT your DM wants to use. We do this check to
# ensure that you haven't accidentally configured something to run on the VT
# in your /etc/inittab file so that you don't get a dead keyboard.
CHECKVT=7
# What display manager do you use ?  [ xdm | gdm | kdm | lxdm | gpe | entrance ]
# NOTE: If this is set in /etc/rc.conf, that setting will override this one.
DISPLAYMANAGER="lightdm" 
This guide is also at the following website: http://www.codelinsoft.it/sito/wiki/ite ... entoo.html

Screenshot:

Image

Image

Image
Image
Image

Post Reply