audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
DanAlucard
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:22

audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by DanAlucard » Fri Dec 24, 2010 13:15

Hi, i have an issue with sound.
Please, ignore my signature. i'm using a different PC. :wink:
First, i want to tell that i have installed the Sabayon 5.4 XFCE release, and then updated via entropy and installed the kde-meta package. All worked fine, except audio.
When i start, kmix is silenced, but i can un-silence it. When i try to play something (using vlc or dragon players), like 0,5 seconds are played and then kmix is muted again.

here is some data about my system:

kernel: 2.6.36-sabayon
platform: AMD Athlon II 250 (dual core, 3.0GHz) with AMD 740 chipset

lspci:

Code: Select all

00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (Internal gfx)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS690 PCI to PCI Bridge (PCI Express Port 1)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10h Processor Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon 2100
01:05.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon X1200 Series Audio Controller
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
i have tried using alsaconf, and it seems to work fine detecting the card, but probem is still here. :?
I have also tryed preferring it in the phonon panel in the KDE systemsettings, but same. :cry:

hope someone will help me with this.
Sabayon Linux Fully updated ;)
CPU: AMD FX 4100 @4515MHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600
Video: Ati Radeon HD7770 - 1095MHz core 1GB GDDR5 @1250MHz

Lenovo ideapad S205 - 11.6" HD screen - AMD E450 APU - Ati HD 6320 - 4GB DDR3 RAM

NoSavy
Simple Hen
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:49
Location: Dorset,UK

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by NoSavy » Fri Dec 24, 2010 15:00

Had the same problem to start with. Can't for sure tell you the answer, only that it was pulse related. I searched the forum for "pulse" and I'm sure the answer was there.

Sorry no more help.

NS
Asus M4A79XTD EVO motherboard, AMD Phenom II X4 965 CPU, 4 GB ram.
Gigabyte NVIDIA 9800GT Silent graphics card, Dell FP2007 22 Digital Flat panel.
Samsung harddisks 2 x 200gb SP2004S,1 x Hitachi 750gb HDT 72107,Optiarc SATA DVD-RW. Sabayon 64 & 32bit.

DanAlucard
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:22

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by DanAlucard » Fri Dec 24, 2010 15:48

@NoSavy: thanks for your answer. I will give it a try :wink:
will post the results in a few minutes :roll:

EDIT: Nope... the PulseAudio guide by Fitzcarraldo (getting pulseaudio to cooperate) doesn't work for me.
I have disabled Pulseaudio by renaming the binary (as posted in the 4th comment of the Fitzcarraldo's thread) and the same issue happens. :cry:

i dunno what to do.
tryed running alsaconf and alsamixer again, and all seems to be good, but the problem persists. :?

any help wil be nice! :D
Sabayon Linux Fully updated ;)
CPU: AMD FX 4100 @4515MHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600
Video: Ati Radeon HD7770 - 1095MHz core 1GB GDDR5 @1250MHz

Lenovo ideapad S205 - 11.6" HD screen - AMD E450 APU - Ati HD 6320 - 4GB DDR3 RAM

DanAlucard
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:22

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by DanAlucard » Fri Dec 24, 2010 17:36

i have found an interesting thing: :)
it seems to be a "sound strength" related problem.
I know that it sounds extrange :lol: , but I can explain:

I have deactivated pulseaudio (now i'm using pure ALSA).
In Kmix, i have left the front channel in 60% and voila! i can play stereo audio without problems.

BUT:
1.- if I set the volume to a higher level, when i play something it is muted again and again...
2.- if i use VLC and slide the VLC's special volume amplifier, the sound is also muted.

so, i think this is a strange thing... :roll:
Sabayon Linux Fully updated ;)
CPU: AMD FX 4100 @4515MHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600
Video: Ati Radeon HD7770 - 1095MHz core 1GB GDDR5 @1250MHz

Lenovo ideapad S205 - 11.6" HD screen - AMD E450 APU - Ati HD 6320 - 4GB DDR3 RAM

Pollo_Loco
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:35
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by Pollo_Loco » Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:53

I have similar sound problems as you describe with other distro's. SL 5.4 is OK though. But, Everytime I reboot from windows to sabayon, I have zero sound. But a cold boot or reboot from sabayon, no sound problems at all.

If anyone can explain this, I'd like to hear it. I've proved this repeatedly over and over. :roll:
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.4 x64

dragonauta
Simple Hen
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:13

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by dragonauta » Sun Dec 26, 2010 21:12

Did you try this?

Go to system preferences, then to Multimedia, then Phonon.
Check that your audio device is first in the list and set first for all categories.

DanAlucard
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:22

Re: audio problem (SBx00 Azalia)

Post by DanAlucard » Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:20

yes, i've tried it out, as I've said at the bottom of the main post :cry:
but thanks dragonauta :wink:

I'm just using it at 60% volume and no problem, but need to have the (physical) speakers at a high level consuming more energy.

this an annoying thing, because sometimes I accidentally pull up the volume and then, is muted :|

any help will be greatly appreciated
Sabayon Linux Fully updated ;)
CPU: AMD FX 4100 @4515MHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600
Video: Ati Radeon HD7770 - 1095MHz core 1GB GDDR5 @1250MHz

Lenovo ideapad S205 - 11.6" HD screen - AMD E450 APU - Ati HD 6320 - 4GB DDR3 RAM

Post Reply