camera issuue [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
carpenterguy
Young Hen
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:31

camera issuue [Solved]

Post by carpenterguy » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:24

When I plug in my digital camera it is found right away, I am giving the option to open in a new window. When I choose that option I receive error.

Could not start process Unable to create io-slave:
klauncher said: Unknown protocol 'camera'.

I am running 3.5, has been working fine for several months. I use a usb flash drive to transfer files with no errors, and run a usb kvm with no errors.

I have been searching sabayon forums and google, when I put "IO-errors and protocol together" The results are all over the place.
Not sure what the error is telling me, to refine the search. Any ideas?
Thanks.
Last edited by carpenterguy on Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:43, edited 1 time in total.

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: camera issuue

Post by DontPanic » Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:25

Google had more results for: klauncher said: Unknown protocol 'camera'

I could not find any that where Gentoo or Sabayon specific, but you may see something is those that jumps out at you.

Has your camera been working, and is just now causing problems, or is the the first time you've tried your camera?

If you type the command 'groups' (as your normal user in a console), do you see the group 'plugdev'?

If you start Digikam, does Digikam see your camera OK?

Have you been updating your system with Entropy or Portage (or not at all)?

Let me know...
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

carpenterguy
Young Hen
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:31

Re: camera issuue

Post by carpenterguy » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:33

Lot of info will check, I have a lenny install and it works fine also with a xp box, not camera.
I have been using entropy, spritz for updates.
groups:root disk wheel floppy uucp audio cdrom dialout video games cdrw usb users portage clamav messagebus haldaemon scanner plugdev qemu entropy kvm vboxusers

Do not see "camera"
Thought it would be a usb device like plugdev.
Thanks for the help, do I need to add camera to groups?

carpenterguy
Young Hen
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:31

Re: camera issuue (solved)

Post by carpenterguy » Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:54

Thanks, Dontpanic.
I have been searching for the answer and have ran across digicam . I searched for it in spritz and never found it.
Linux being case sensitive, I tried "Digikam" found and installed it and all is well.
Not sure how long it would have taken without your help.
Thanks again.

Post Reply