Suspend to Disk workaround

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
yuguang
Simple Hen
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 23:13
Contact:

Suspend to Disk workaround

Post by yuguang » Thu Jul 10, 2008 7:47

I am using a dell inspiron 1520 and found out too late that Suspend to Disk won't work on it. is there a way to not load the saved snapshot from the swap? it crashes the first 10s of boot saying filesystems are corrupt and needs to be restarted. I've found on google that hibernate or std doesn't work on the inspiron 1520 but suspend to ram works fine. I just want to boot sabayon. deleting the resume=swap... parameter and adding acpi=off doesn't help!

xlnagla
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: Suspend to Disk workaround

Post by xlnagla » Thu Jul 17, 2008 0:51

reformat your swap using a liveDVD, and don't suspend it again (delete any hardware cues that would trigger it)

~xlnagla

yuguang
Simple Hen
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 23:13
Contact:

Re: Suspend to Disk workaround

Post by yuguang » Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:12

thanks, I was about to reinstall with 3.5

Post Reply