Screen Resolution

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:38

I have read all the posts on this issue and spent hours on google searching.
I have tried all the cheats and mods listed on this site and others and still cannot change the resolution.
I am using an IBM Thinkpad r50e, the graphics card is an Intel 855GM (I think).
This is what my xorg.conf says:
Section "Files"


#FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/corefonts"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this is an optional section which is used to specify
# which run-time loadable modules to load when the X server starts up.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Module"

Load "dbe"
Load "i2c"
Load "glx"
Load "ddc"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "extmod"
Load "synaptics"
Load "vbe"
Load "dri"

EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section. This contains various server-wide Options.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "true"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Input devices
# **********************************************************************

# **********************************************************************
# Core keyboard's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics1"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "HorizScrollDelta" "0"
Option "SHMConfig" "on"
# For ALPS/MacBook TouchPads
#Option "MaxSpeed" "0.7"
#Option "MinSpeed" "0.18"
#Option "AccelFactor" "0.08"
#Option "TopEdge" "120"
#Option "LeftEdge" "120"
#Option "BottomEdge" "830"
#Option "RightEdge" "650"
#Option "FingerLow" "25"
#Option "FingerHigh" "30"
# MacBook touchpad
#Option "MaxTapTime" "180"
#Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
#Option "MaxDoubleTapTime" "180"
#Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
#Option "HorizScrollDelta" "50"
#Option "TapButton2" "3"
#Option "TapButton3" "2"
#Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "1"

# Do you keep moving the mouse while typing? Try this trick.
#synclient TouchpadOff=1 disable your synaptics touchpad
#synclient TouchpadOff=0 enable your synaptics touchpad
EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"

Option "AutoRepeat" "500 5"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
# Macintosh keyboard
#Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"

EndSection


Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "wacom1"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Option "Type" "stylus"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "wacom2"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Option "Type" "eraser"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Driver "wacom"
Identifier "wacom3"
Option "Device" "/dev/wacom" # Change to
# /dev/input/event
# for USB
Option "Type" "cursor"
Option "ForceDevice" "ISDV4" # Tablet PC ONLY
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************

Section "InputDevice"

# Identifier and driver

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"

Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"

EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse2"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "Generic Monitor"
#Option "DPMS"

VertRefresh 43 - 60
HorizSync 28 - 80

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA"
Driver "i810" # do not remove vesa
#Option "RenderAccel" "on"
#Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
#Option "BusType" "PCI"
#Option "ColorTiling" "on"
#Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"

# The Identifier, Device and Monitor lines must be present

Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "VESA"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
#Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

# The favoured Depth and/or Bpp may be specified here

DefaultDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
ViewPort 0 0
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
ViewPort 0 0
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubsection


EndSection


Section "ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present

Identifier "Main Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen 1"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Mouse2" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "Synaptics1" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom1" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom2" "SendCoreEvents"
#InputDevice "wacom3" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
#Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Please help, bearing in mind I am fairly new to Linux. Thanks.
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby wolfden » Mon Jun 16, 2008 2:14

wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Mon Jun 16, 2008 7:44

Thanks for the reply.
Did as instructed on the screen and I get this:

Calculating dependencies \
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "915".

Any thoughts?
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby wolfden » Mon Jun 16, 2008 8:01

you typed emerge 915?

relook at the first command it gives you

make sure you emerge --sync && layman -S first tho
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:34

Ran emerge --sync && layman -S all appeared to go well.

Then tried to emerge 915 as per the wiki and got this:

Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...
>>> starting parallel fetching

>>> Emerging (1 of 2) sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1 to /
>>> Downloading 'http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.g z'
--08:27:49-- http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/9 ... 5.3.tar.gz
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Resolving distfiles.gentoo.org... 1.0.0.0
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.

--08:28:51-- http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/9 ... 5.3.tar.gz
(try: 2) => `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.

--08:29:53-- http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/9 ... 5.3.tar.gz
(try: 3) => `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.

--08:30:56-- http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/9 ... 5.3.tar.gz
(try: 4) => `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.

--08:32:00-- http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/9 ... 5.3.tar.gz
(try: 5) => `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Connecting to distfiles.gentoo.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Giving up.

>>> Downloading 'http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
--08:33:00-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... 5.3.tar.gz
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Resolving distro.ibiblio.org... 1.0.0.0
Connecting to distro.ibiblio.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.

--08:34:02-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... 5.3.tar.gz
(try: 2) => `/usr/portage/distfiles/915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'
Connecting to distro.ibiblio.org|1.0.0.0|:80... failed: Connection timed out.
Retrying.
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:43

After attempting to connect to a number of different locations got this:

Giving up.

!!! Couldn't download '915resolution-0.5.3.tar.gz'. Aborting.
* Fetch failed for 'sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1'

* Messages for package sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1:

* Fetch failed for 'sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1'
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby Element » Mon Jun 16, 2008 18:08

That's odd... never seen all of the mirrors go down at once. Make sure you are connected to the internet when emerging, that's important. If it still doesn't work try equo. You must be connected to the internet when emerging or using equo.

Code: Select all
equo install sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1


Do that as root. It'll be installed in mere seconds.
Image
On Sabayon @ Freenode: <ColdFlo> im not asking for support <ColdFlo> im asking for help
Element
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 0:55
Location: 127.0.0.2

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:13

Thanks for the reply.

Have tried the emerge command from the wiki and still cannot connect to any of the mirrors, as it is unlikely that they are all constantly down presume there is a problem with my system. I am getting really frustrated!

I also tried the equo command you kindly advised me of and got this:

equo install sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1
>> ## ATTENTION: no match for sys-apps/915resolution-0.5.3-r1 in database. If you omitted the category, try adding it.
>> No packages found

The internet is connected at all times.
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27

Re: Screen Resolution

Postby ambrose » Fri Jun 20, 2008 10:06

Still stuck on this one despite hours of reading and the help given so far.
ambrose
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 0:27


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests