Skype and web camera

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Sat May 24, 2008 13:58

Hi ,

I connected my Logitech USB web cam and it was recognized by Kopete in the Devices section. However in Skype I do not see any way I can activate it. Can someone tell me how this should work?
It should be in Tools -> General, but I don't see any options there.

Sabayon 3.4f.
Skype : Latest version installed: 1.3.0.53-r1

Regards,
Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Darksurf » Sat May 24, 2008 19:05

Yeah, I'm having a similar issue, I think its skype. someone probably needs to report this to the people at skype.
~ Y </0 5+Up1</ P30p[Ez +Ry 2 R34</ D1s? ~
Darksurf
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 4:01

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby freeallbadgers » Sat May 24, 2008 21:13

Skype : Latest version installed: 1.3.0.53-r1


That version of skype doesn't even exist in portage anymore.

As far as I can recall video in skype for linux wasnt supported till version >2.0.

Code: Select all
 net-im/skype
     Available versions:  1.4.0.118!m 2.0.0.63!m (~)2.0.0.68!m {qt-static}
     Installed versions:  2.0.0.68!m(06:23:33 13/04/08)(qt-static)
     Homepage:            http://www.skype.com/
     Description:         A P2P-VoiceIP client.


Upgrade and it should workie.
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Mon May 26, 2008 1:39

I did try to run an update, but at the end it failed and it looks like some kind of a glitch:

Code: Select all
emerge --update skype

Project ERROR: This is a dummy profile to be used for translations ONLY.
  for /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.4/tools/qvfb/qvfb.pro (linux-g++)
/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.4/bin/qmake -spec /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.4/mkspecs/linux-g++ -o /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.4/./tools/qvfb /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/work/qt-x11-opensource-src-4.3.4/tools/qvfb/qvfb.pro

Qt is now configured for building. Just run 'gmake'.
Once everything is built, you must run 'gmake install'.
Qt will be installed into /usr

To reconfigure, run 'gmake confclean' and 'configure'.

kernel/qsound_x11.cpp:0: Warning: No relevant classes found. No output generated.
/usr/lib/gcc/i586-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.2/include/g++-v4/bits/basic_string.h: In member function ‘void std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc>::insert(__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<typename _Alloc::rebind<_CharT>::other::pointer, std::basic_string<_CharT, _Traits, _Alloc> >, typename _Alloc::rebind<_CharT>::other::size_type, _CharT)’:
/usr/lib/gcc/i586-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.2/include/g++-v4/bits/basic_string.h:958: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:http://bugs.gentoo.org/> for instructions.
The bug is not reproducible, so it is likely a hardware or OS problem.
make[1]: *** [.obj/release-shared/qhttp.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make: *** [sub-network-all-ordered] Error 2
 *
 * ERROR: x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 2456:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       emake all || die
 *  The die message:
 *   (no error message)
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1/temp/environment'.
 *


Anyone has a similar problem?
I didn't forget to run emerge --sync, etc.

Regards,
Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby freeallbadgers » Mon May 26, 2008 5:44

Code: Select all
echo "net-im/skype qt-static" >> /etc/portage/package.use  && emerge -av skype
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Mon May 26, 2008 10:35

Thanks, brilliant, it worked.
:)

I'll test the camera later.
Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Mon May 26, 2008 11:18

Well, my camera works, when I go to options, set the options and press Apply it looks fine, but when I press the CLose button - Skype is closed and I have to restart it.
SHould I report this as a bug to Skype?

Richard.
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby freeallbadgers » Mon May 26, 2008 11:27

Try launching skype from a terminal, this may give you some useful information regarding the crash i.e. set it up again and see what error messages are generated. Dmesg and the contents of /var/log/messages may also yield some useful debugging info.

net-im/skype
Available versions: 1.4.0.118!m 2.0.0.63!m (~)2.0.0.68!m {qt-static}
Installed versions: 2.0.0.68!m(06:23:33 13/04/08)(qt-static)
Homepage: http://www.skype.com/
Description: A P2P-VoiceIP client.


As you can see there are 2 versions of skype >2.0 , assuming you have the latest installed you could try the earlier version and see if that works better for you.

Code: Select all
emerge -av =net-im/skype-2.0.0.63


[EDIT]

I'd check their forum first out before I'd go reporting a bug, maybe its a known issue and already been resolved.

http://forum.skype.com/
“I just finished compiling glibc and now it says there is a new update available? Arrgh! It never ends!!”
freeallbadgers
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:12
Location: Glasgow, UK.

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Mon May 26, 2008 11:46

Thanks, will do :-)

Richard
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: Skype and web camera

Postby Richlion » Sat May 31, 2008 12:26

Hi,
it seems like the latest skype version is having a problem with the webcam active in other Linux distros. My skype sessions crash, after about 4 attempts it was finally working after restarting skype. I posted the problem on their forum.

Regards,
Richard.
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests