HP mouse problems

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

Compiz Windows moving problems...

Post by evilnone » Sun May 18, 2008 22:56

As the title says I am having problems moving windows around with compiz. Let me explain... Basically I just installed sabayon on this pc (i have it on my laptop already with no problems). But whenever I go to move a window around my desktop (ie this browser im using atm) It moves it a short distance then just basically opens and closes it... (like double clicking the bar at the top) and it just does this over and over... When I log in to X instead of KDE i have no problems (although not using compiz) I am not sure what this is called to search for but the searchs I did turned up nothing... any help?

EDIT: After noticing some new problems I am not sure if this is compiz related or something else.... (I think my mouse is sending the doubleclick to the program as it moves) When I try to highlight text in my browser (through KDE or X ) It starts to highlight then goes nuts... basically I think something is wrong with the way the mouse works with sabayon... (linux in general i think). I have an hp and the mouse and keyboard came bundled with it (wireless keyboard and mouse) the model numer of the mouse is 5189URF (M) if that helps any

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

HP mouse problems

Post by evilnone » Sun May 18, 2008 23:14

Ok as the title says I have an HP and the mouse is all wacked out under linux...

basically whenever I go to hold the left mouse button down (ie to highlight text OR move windows) its like it is doubleclicking after a few seconds... so I can highlight like for 1 second or move a window for one second then its like it starts doubleclicking... is this a known problem? (BTW 3.4F md5 is good and burned at 4x)

not sure what else is needed but here is my model number and some pc specs...

m8120n (hp cp model number)
mouse says model number 5189URF

p4 quad 2.4ghz
3gb ram


please help

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by wolfden » Mon May 19, 2008 0:01

merged - only need to make one topic on same issue

you need to configure mouse in xorg.conf

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by evilnone » Mon May 19, 2008 0:18

thank you for merging and the reply can u point me to a guide or some more info as to how to edit that? thanks

xlnagla
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by xlnagla » Mon May 19, 2008 1:00

re-emerging evdev and restarting X solved this for me - quite annoying though, isn't it?

~xlnagla

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by evilnone » Mon May 19, 2008 1:05

i did emerge evdev and it said no packages.... whats the command for evdev?

edit: let me rephrase that... whats the newest version out so i make sure it isntalled...

xlnagla
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by xlnagla » Mon May 19, 2008 1:08

xf86-input-evdev

~xlnagla

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by evilnone » Mon May 19, 2008 1:32

ok well that didnt work... when i do a emerge xf86-input-evdev it downloads everything says its fine... i restart my pc (only way i know to restart x) and neither my keyboard or mouse work... i cant even log in... any idea?

xlnagla
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 2:44

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by xlnagla » Mon May 19, 2008 1:38

can you press ctrl-alt-f1 and enter a virtual terminal, or no?

~xlnagla

evilnone
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:05

Re: HP mouse problems

Post by evilnone » Mon May 19, 2008 1:44

u mean at the logon screen? after i emerge? i dont know i can redo it to see (every time i reboot after i cant log in it reverts back i think) is that what u mean though?

Post Reply