how to fix problem with non working "pipe" key? [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

how to fix problem with non working "pipe" key? [Solved]

Postby niru » Mon Apr 07, 2008 22:36

22:26 < niru> hm any solution to fix problem with non working "pipe" key (using 3.4f)
22:27 < niru> "greater than", "smaller than"

Same problem with two tested computers, LG T1 laptop and some old Dell.

Can't find anything searching the forum...
Last edited by niru on Tue Apr 08, 2008 16:16, edited 1 time in total.
SL 3.5 (laptop) & 3.4F (desktop)
niru
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 19:41
Location: Surte, Sweden

Re: any solution to fix problem with non working "pipe" key?

Postby deadfool » Tue Apr 08, 2008 0:32

copy | to a file then just paste it when you need it?
deadfool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:56

Re: any solution to fix problem with non working "pipe" key?

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Apr 08, 2008 1:08

This could possibly be due to the currently configured keyboard in SL and/or the currently configured locale. What type of keyboard have you got (US, UK, 105-key, 108-key, QWERTY, AZERTY, etc.)? And what locale have you got SL configured for? If you look at K Menu > Regional & Accessibility > Keyboard Layout you can configure the 'Keyboard model', 'Active layout' and 'Layout variant'. Also, if you type locale in a Terminal window you will see what locale SL is currently configured for. What are all these parameters currently set as on your PC?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: any solution to fix problem with non working "pipe" key?

Postby deadfool » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:03

oh i thought his keyboard was actually broken. mine was acting up and i switched it to evdev and it worked fine
deadfool
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 3:56

Re: any solution to fix problem with non working "pipe" key?

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:22

Well, he's got the same problem with two different PCs, so it's unlikely the keyboards are broken -- with the same problem -- on both. And if you look at the various different keyboard layouts on the following page you'll see that some keys are in completely different positions depending on the nation they originate from:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_layout

As niru is in Sweden (according to his forum profile), he is possibly using a Swedish keyboard layout:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keyboard_l ... .2FFinnish

so one possibility is a mismatch in the way the keyboard layout has been configured in SL.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: how to fix problem with non working "pipe" key? [solved]

Postby niru » Tue Apr 08, 2008 16:17

thanks for inputs!

changed to 105-keys.

<|> :)
SL 3.5 (laptop) & 3.4F (desktop)
niru
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 19:41
Location: Surte, Sweden


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron