Startup res over monitor max

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Startup res over monitor max

Postby Dr.Dixie » Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:11

I'm having a problem with at least Sabayon 3.4 mini.

Whenever I boot up, it comes up at 1600x1200, while the highest possible resolution I've gotten on Windows is [email protected] bits. This naturally means that my monitor begins saying "Sync out of range"
xorg.conf only has 1024x768, 800x600, 640x480 at 8, 16, and 24 bits.

This could QUITE POSSIBLY be a hardware problem, but I still wanted to post here to see whether any of you have similar or identical problems. Thanks.


!Dr. Dixie!
Image
Dr.Dixie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 14:43
Location: In the pen.

Re: Startup res over monitor max

Postby wolfden » Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:56

Do you have grub installed?

When on the grub menu you can edit the grub lines directly and check what resolution that lines says and you can even change it if it is wrong.

What video card do you have?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Startup res over monitor max

Postby Dr.Dixie » Tue Feb 26, 2008 17:20

Video card: Radeon 7500

I do have grub installed

I tried to edit the grub lines, but I couldn't get it to start editing them, or moving the cursor through them. I'd be thankful if you could enlighten me unto how to do so. Thanks!

*edit* I figured out how to edit them, but I don't know what to put there right now. I tried "screen=1024x768", but that didn't seem to help...

!Dr.Dixie!
Image
Dr.Dixie
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 14:43
Location: In the pen.


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron