acpi thermal regulation for ASUS A6J laptop

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

acpi thermal regulation for ASUS A6J laptop

Postby Dottor Pike » Sat Dec 29, 2007 22:25

Hi there,

since I still having problem using lm-sensor on my laptop (as reported http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=11712), I am
trying to find other solution.

I got an answer from lm-sensor developers:
Basic hardware monitoring features are provided by the "thermal" and "fan"
drivers. They are not compatible with lm-sensors (although there are plans
to go in this direction.) You can get the temperature value with "acpi
-t". The fan speed control is supposed to happen automatically, the fan
should kick in when the temperature reaches a given threshold. You might
be able to change that threshold in the BIOS. The limit can be read from
the files under /proc/acpi/thermal_zone.


The question: I cannot find the "acpi -t" command on my SL PE 1.1 (command not found)
Why??

Those are the files contained into /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM directory:

cooling_mode:
Code: Select all
0 - Active; 1 - Passive


polling_frequency:
Code: Select all
<polling disabled>


state
Code: Select all
state:                   ok


temperature:
Code: Select all
temperature:             60 C


trip_points:
Code: Select all
critical (S5):           105 C
passive:                 95 C: tc1=2 tc2=10 tsp=100 devices=CPU1
active[0]:               60 C: devices=FN00


So, I'd like to know how to access to the BIOS and how to regulate the FAN SPEED.
Any idea?

Tnx
Max
Il vantaggio di essere intelligente è che si può sempre fare l'imbecille, mentre il contrario è impossibile...
-- Woody Allen
Dottor Pike
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:59
Location: Firenze

Re: acpi thermal regulation for ASUS A6J laptop

Postby Dottor Pike » Sun Dec 30, 2007 10:39

According with the documentation, I've tried to change the trip_points but without success :( :(
This was the trip_points original content's :
cat trip_points
Code: Select all
critical (S5):           105 C
passive:                 95 C: tc1=2 tc2=10 tsp=100 devices=CPU1
active[0]:               60 C: devices=FN00


And I'd like to change the active status to i.e. 55C with the echo command :
echo -n "105:0:95:55:0" > /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/trip_points

but it hangs with the error:
Code: Select all
bash: echo: write error: Input/output error


Any idea on howto fix it?
Tnx,
Dr.Pike
Il vantaggio di essere intelligente è che si può sempre fare l'imbecille, mentre il contrario è impossibile...
-- Woody Allen
Dottor Pike
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:59
Location: Firenze


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron