-No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

-No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby lo_sballato_pg » Thu Dec 20, 2007 13:17

I installed Sabayon for the first time last night (ver 3.4f x86-64) and have been getting things setup, but can not seem to get any sound.
I ran alsaconf and was able to select my Audigy 2 card (from a list of three devices found, Audigy, Onboard audio and a Legacy device)
The setup completed, I checked volume levels in alsamixer and everything looked fine.
I tried to play an audio file with no luck, so I went into the KDE Sound System settings and made sure ALSA was selected and tried to run the test, but still had no sound.
Rebooted (just in case for whatever reason) still the same situation upon restart.

I then ran "lspci | grep Audio" and got this result
00:0e.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

When i run "lspci" i get this...
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 0 (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:08.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:09.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:09.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:09.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:0a.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:0a.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:0c.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0d.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0d.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:0e.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:10.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:11.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:12.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:13.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:15.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:16.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G80 [GeForce 8800 GTS] (rev a2)
02:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
02:06.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 04)
02:06.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04)
02:09.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
04:00.0 RAID bus controller: Silicon Image, Inc. SiI 3132 Serial ATA Raid II Controller (rev 01)


Is there someway to direct...whatever needs directing (noob to linux) to 02:06.0? is that even my problem? anyway...any help would be greatly appreciated.
lo_sballato_pg
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:09

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby momocore » Thu Dec 20, 2007 15:25

Try running kmix and double check your inputs and switches, something may be unchecked there
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby lo_sballato_pg » Thu Dec 20, 2007 23:56

UPDATE! so the sytem keeps re-selecting my Nvidia onboard chipset for audio.....(sound does come out)
I re-ran alsaconf for the Audigy card and then checked in alsamixer and it looked fine so then I ran kmix and there are a million and a half sliders and switches. Looking around and messing with them while playing a song in the background, i'm not able to get any sound, nor does it look like anything critical is muted.

On the bottom in the kmix window it said Audigy 2 ZS, as it did in the upper left of alsamixer, but after restart, it had re-selected to the Nvidia onboard audio as well as in alsamixer.

Is there some setting I need to change so that the system stops confusing the two? or to tell it to always use the Audigy? (i'm assuming that's the problem)
lo_sballato_pg
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:09

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby momocore » Fri Dec 21, 2007 0:22

Are you running alsaconf in su?
KDE may be resetting, there's a setting in kcontrol (control center) to set it to remember sessions. Try that.

Or, you could disable onboard audio from the bios... which is what I did for anything I wasn't using
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby lo_sballato_pg » Fri Dec 21, 2007 0:42

I checked in my bios first thing, and i couldn't find any option disable the onboad audio chipset.
The interesting thing is that when i run "aplay -l" this is the result...

card 0: Audigy2 [Audigy 2 ZS [2001]], device 0: emu10k1 [ADC Capture/Standard PCM Playback]
Subdevices: 31/32
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
Subdevice #8: subdevice #8
Subdevice #9: subdevice #9
Subdevice #10: subdevice #10
Subdevice #11: subdevice #11
Subdevice #12: subdevice #12
Subdevice #13: subdevice #13
Subdevice #14: subdevice #14
Subdevice #15: subdevice #15
Subdevice #16: subdevice #16
Subdevice #17: subdevice #17
Subdevice #18: subdevice #18
Subdevice #19: subdevice #19
Subdevice #20: subdevice #20
Subdevice #21: subdevice #21
Subdevice #22: subdevice #22
Subdevice #23: subdevice #23
Subdevice #24: subdevice #24
Subdevice #25: subdevice #25
Subdevice #26: subdevice #26
Subdevice #27: subdevice #27
Subdevice #28: subdevice #28
Subdevice #29: subdevice #29
Subdevice #30: subdevice #30
Subdevice #31: subdevice #31
card 0: Audigy2 [Audigy 2 ZS [2001]], device 2: emu10k1 efx [Multichannel Capture/PT Playback]
Subdevices: 8/8
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 0: Audigy2 [Audigy 2 ZS [2001]], device 3: emu10k1 [Multichannel Playback]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Audigy2 [Audigy 2 ZS [2001]], device 4: p16v [p16v]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


should the Audigy 2 ZS be listed so many times? with so many subdevice #'s? i don't even understand what to make of that.....
this even on the right path to fixing my sound?
lo_sballato_pg
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:09

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby momocore » Fri Dec 21, 2007 0:57

Multiple subdevices seem fine to me, its the different aspects of the card.

I'm nowhere near my machine now, sorry I can't be of more immediate help... its got to be somewhere in alsaconf or in kde...
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby lo_sballato_pg » Fri Dec 21, 2007 3:56

I also noticed something else.....if you look there in my "aplay -l" read out, the driver is emu10k1 and the ALSA-Project website says I should be using emu10k2 with my specific sound card.
Having looked around I've noticed that the ALSA that comes embedded in the kernel is outdated and as far as I can see doesn't even have the emu10k2.
Is there a way to update the ALSA that is embedded or at least the driver library?
lo_sballato_pg
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:09

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby wolfden » Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:47

you can't have alsa compiled into the kernel and alsa-drivers at same time. You can only do one or the other, if u do alsa-drivers, recompile kernel without alsa than emerge alsa-driver.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby lo_sballato_pg » Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:37

so is there no way to update the alsa that is compiled into the kernel? i was reading around and someone implied it could be done so long as you have python 2.5 installed, or something to that effect.
at this point i went ahead and updated python to 2.5 just to start heading in what sounded like the right direction, and instead i am left with pretty much nothing working....no compiz-fusion, no kmixer, etc.
from here...what would you suggest to be my best offer? reinstall sabayon? is there a way to fix everything? my problems now are obviously much worse than no sound....
lo_sballato_pg
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:09

Re: -No Sound- Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Postby wolfden » Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:07

if you update python you need to run:

Code: Select all
python-updater -i


so you can get every thing converted to 2.5. There is several posts about this. Your best bet is to take the list from python-updater and convert it to an emerge list so you can skip over all the troubled ones.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron