Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Postby Merlin7777 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:52

Hey all, as the title suggests.

According to Kinfo, I am running a AD198x Analog (DUPLEX).

I followed the HDA-Intel guide, and when I modprobed any of the AD198something drivers, my headphones gave a little pop, but I still can't get the sound to work. I turned up the volume using kmix, and still no dice.

Can somebody help me? Please?
Last edited by Merlin7777 on Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:00, edited 1 time in total.
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work.

Postby joost » Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:05

which sabayon version did you install?

Can you do as root lspci and post that here?
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work.

Postby Merlin7777 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 21:08

I am using Sabayon 3.4f DVD edition.

Here is what sudo lspci says:

Code: Select all
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82P965/G965 Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82P965/G965 PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Contoller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801 SATA RAID Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV570 [Radeon X1950 Pro]
01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV570 [Radeon X1950 Pro] (secondary)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 12)
03:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
03:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
05:02.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems Unknown device 0620
05:03.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
05:04.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8001 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 14)
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work.

Postby joost » Tue Nov 27, 2007 21:23

Might want to try this:

as root:
Code: Select all
alsaconf


after that as root:
Code: Select all
alsamixer

Be sure to unmute all in alsamixer.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work.

Postby Merlin7777 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 22:06

Okay, let me try it.

Edit: That worked great!!!! Thank you so much!!!
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Postby Xvan911 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:00

hi there guys, well I've followed the "modprobe" steps and the sound works fine, but when I reboot the box, the sound doesn't work again, I open amarok and it seems like it is playing something, but there is nothing out of the speakers,

my pc is a inspiron 1420, and the sound card is Intel HDA ICH8 by Sigmatel

any ideas??

Thanks
Xvan911
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:42

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Postby Merlin7777 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 1:17

Did you try the alsaconf suggestion by joost?
Merlin7777
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 3:47

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Postby Xvan911 » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:48

yes I've tried it, actually I tried again when I read your suggestion, the same effect, Amarok plays a song but there is no sound!
Xvan911
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:42

Re: Can't get my HDA-Intel sound to work. [Solved]

Postby Xvan911 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 5:16

hi again guys! I'd like to tell you that I almost fixed the sound, but I get to something that is beyond me,

1. I did the modprobe steps, and it worked, but just temporaly, after rebooting the pc and again there was no sound out of the speakers,
2. then I followed the next steps - alsaconfig, alsamixer- and it worked and again after rebooting there was no sound
3. I installed the condexant modem, after installing it the sound worked, I restarted the box once, and it still worked, finally I rebooted it once again and the sound wasn't working again. it's kind of weird! isn't it?

I'm not a linux expert not even a programmer, I just want to try linux and I've chosen Sabayon because it's Gentoo based, but Gentoo seems too hard for me yet

Thanks for your help.
Xvan911
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:42


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest