no sound in Sabayon virtual machine [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

no sound in Sabayon virtual machine [Solved]

Postby chuncheng » Fri Nov 23, 2007 8:31

I created a virtual machine in VMware Workstation to try the Sabayon PE liveCD, it played music while launching the desktop, then I install it into the virtual machine, but there is no more sound card detected, and pops up this information window http://picasaweb.google.co.uk/chuncheng ... 8257354402.

I run lspci/lsmod and the sound card is listed, I run alsaconf and all the settings are correct, then I re-install alsa-lib, but no help, I just wonder why the sound card works while running liveCD but doesn't after installation? and how can I get the sound card working? thanks a lot for help!

# lspci
02:01.0 Multimedia audio controller: Ensoniq ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] (rev 02)

$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
bluetooth 52580 0
ipv6 258532 12
snd_seq_midi 9344 0
snd_seq_dummy 4868 0
snd_seq_oss 30592 0
snd_seq_midi_event 7936 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 47600 6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_ens1371 25760 0
gameport 16008 1 snd_ens1371
snd_rawmidi 23680 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_ens1371
snd_seq_device 8972 5 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd_ac97_codec 93476 1 snd_ens1371
ac97_bus 3456 1 snd_ac97_codec
ac 7172 0
battery 14340 0
power_supply 11268 2 ac,battery
pcnet32 31620 0
i2c_piix4 9484 0
i2c_core 24448 1 i2c_piix4
shpchp 32276 0
pci_hotplug 15112 1 shpchp
intel_agp 24468 1
pcspkr 4096 0
tg3 101508 0
e1000 112832 0
scsi_wait_scan 2432 0
sl811_hcd 12928 0
uhci_hcd 23952 0
ehci_hcd 32396 0
chuncheng
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby wolfden » Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:09

so alsaconf detects it, did u run alsamixer or kmix to adjust volume?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby chuncheng » Fri Nov 23, 2007 11:22

I can not adjust the volume from Kmix icon in the system tray, it is mute, and there is nothing in the "current mixer:" column.

I run alsamixer, yes it show me something that I can adjust the volume, but there is still no sound, so what can I do?

Thanks!
chuncheng
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby joost » Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:04

Did you run update-installer before installing?

Because PE had a bug in its installer (affecting sound), and its fixed several weeks ago.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby wolfden » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:07

augh, missed that it was the PE version
viewtopic.php?f=57&t=11189
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby joost » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:11

We understand wolfden... Getting old and stuff.

:mrgreen:

This forum needs to be more wheelchair friendly, what do you think?
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby chuncheng » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:14

joost wrote:Did you run update-installer before installing?

Because PE had a bug in its installer (affecting sound), and its fixed several weeks ago.



Do you mean that I have to run update-installer before installing Sabayon? or before installing alsa-lib?

I run it now, and command not found.

# update-installer
bash: update-installer: command not found
Last edited by chuncheng on Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:17, edited 1 time in total.
chuncheng
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby joost » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:15

Before installing sabayon.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby chuncheng » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:19

Now the sabayon is installed already, so how can I fix it at this moment?

Thanks!
chuncheng
Young Hen
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:58

Re: no sound in Sabayon virtual machine

Postby joost » Fri Nov 23, 2007 13:21

joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest