Any Tips for Lenovo ThinkPad T61?

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Any Tips for Lenovo ThinkPad T61?

Postby Jeff-cao » Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:55

Hi All

I am a newbie. I just installed Sabayon 3.4f on my new ThinkPad T61. I checked the package list before installation. And I found the iwlwifi4965-ucode-4.44.15 package. So I guess my 4965AGN wireless card should work. But it doesn't. The audio doesn't work either. Could any body give some tips or suggestions? Thank you very much. :D
Last edited by Jeff-cao on Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:07, edited 1 time in total.
Jeff-cao
Baby Hen

Re: Any Tips for Lenovo ThinkPad T61?

Postby defraz » Mon Sep 17, 2007 7:08

for audio isuue, try typing "alsaconfig" in terminal window (with root privileges), worked for me...
defraz
Baby Hen

Postby Jeff-cao » Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:08

defraz wrote:for audio isuue, try typing "alsaconfig" in terminal window (with root privileges), worked for me...

Thanks.
Jeff-cao
Baby Hen

Postby Jeff-cao » Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:34

It's still doesn't work.
Jeff-cao
Baby Hen

Postby thinkgeek » Tue Sep 25, 2007 21:46

Has a solution been found yet? I'm currently running Fedora 7 x86_64 on my Thinkpad T61, but I'm thinking about making a switch. I was completely blown away by the 3.4F liveDVD, very nice! There is a solution for the sound problem with the Thinkpad T61 in the FedoraForums:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho ... hlight=t61

While it would be really nice if that solution would work in sabayon too, I'm pretty sure I can't assume that it would. On the other hand, I don't see anything in solution that makes it look Fedora specific (no rpms and such), so it might.