Package Installs??

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

sqlpython
Technological Hen

Package Installs??

Post by sqlpython » Mon Jun 18, 2007 17:06

I am new to Sabayon but a 12 year LINUX user.
I really like Sabayon as I have been looking at it for a year and have finally installed the mini on a spare Laptop drive.
The install went great Sound, Wifi etc.. So I ordered a DVD to get a full version.
However, I could use some help/directions regarding installing packages.
I am very familar deb and rpm and tar install of packages but portage as method is new to me.
I called up the KDE gui but almost all packages State in Window of gui ..No longer Available..??
Why?
Secondly, Where/How do I get packages that are not on the Tree?
C++ compiler.. Eclipse for Java.. etc..
So I need directions as to the package format I would look for when I add packages as a Sabayon user.
And where to get them..
Thanks........ for all and any help..
This is what I want to have on my desktop..
Kontact PIM
Kpilot for my Palm
Xine and RealPlayer for video
Amarok Music
OpenOffice
GNU Cash
CrossOver from Codeweavers
Eclipse for Java
Komodo IDE
Cforge for C++ ((which I will install per what? tar, rpm, deb??)
Pixel 32 for Image manipulation
Mysql
Knoda for mysql
Perl, Java, Python
DigiKam for camera
Audacity sound studio

Darksurf
Old Dear Hen

Post by Darksurf » Mon Jun 18, 2007 17:56

a lot of those that I know of ARE in the portage tree. You may just need to sync your computer to the portage tree. have you ever used gentoo?? I don't mean to insult your intellegence, so please forgive me. You have used Linux far longer than I ever have. almost, but not quite double the time i have.

in a root terminal you should type "emerge --sync && layman -S" when connected to the net and type it without the quotes please. (i've had some issues of people doing this before) then press enter.

emerge --sync syncs your computer to the latest portage tree.