Is Rigo crashing? [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Is Rigo crashing? [Solved]

Postby maccabbeo » Thu May 15, 2014 14:58

Hi to all,
I'm new to Sabayon/Gentoo. I see that Rigo window disappears sometime when I try to install a package, while some other times it stands there showing the install progress untill I decede to close the window. Some other times, instead it disappears with no reason, no warn, no error or no crash report. It seems it installs the required package anyway, but I don't know why the Rigo window disappears like that.

It always happens when I try to Optimize the download speed and when I try to update the repository. For those two options I just do not know whether Rigo performs the required actions or not, despite the disappearing window.

How can I solve the problem?
thanks
regards
Last edited by maccabbeo on Wed May 21, 2014 11:47, edited 1 time in total.
maccabbeo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 16:57

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby maccabbeo » Thu May 15, 2014 19:30

Any suggestion, please?
maccabbeo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 16:57

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby Stupot » Thu May 15, 2014 21:42

Can you replicate this running rigo from the command line? If so, what sort of output do you get on the command line?
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby maccabbeo » Fri May 16, 2014 8:40

Hi Stupot,
running Rigo from command line gives me just NO output when the window-disappearing happens.

It just happens again: I'm trying to install an application, I'm asked superuser password, I click on OK/Accept button after correctly inputting the superuser passowrd and then the window disappears... Meanwhile the application has been correctly installed.

So, how can I solve such a problem?
Thanks,
regards.
maccabbeo
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 16:57

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby Minda » Fri May 16, 2014 15:44

Hi! I have exactly the same problem. The Rigo window disappears sometime when I try to install a package,other times, instead it disappears with no reason....In console (dmesg command) i see lines [ 5842.606208] rigo[8433]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fdd8ba94410 sp 00007fffe2db40e0 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7fdd8ba6e000+a1000]. By the way i run sabayon 14.05 with gnome 3.12.1. Any ideas?
Image
User avatar
Minda
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:45

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby eor2004 » Fri May 16, 2014 15:52

Run this cli commands to update equo, rigo, entropy and system apps, it maybe help with your issues with rigo, you have nothing to lose! :)

equo update
equo install entropy equo -a
equo upgrade -a
equo deptest -a
equo conf update
equo libtest -a

if that doesn't work try:

equo update
equo install sys-apps/entropy rigo
equo --version (as of today 16 May 2014, it should be ver.282)
Sabayon Linux MATE 64-bit
Gigabyte G41M-ES2L-->2gb ram
Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.60ghz-->E5300
WD-6400AAKS-Caviar-SE16-640gb-->XFS filesystem
User avatar
eor2004
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 15:46
Location: Puerto Rico

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby Stupot » Fri May 16, 2014 16:06

I never run rigo, but I opened it up and optimized the mirrors and updated the local database without any issues.

I dunno where libvte2 comes from, but if we can figure out that package, I'd suggest resinstalling/updating it.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby Minda » Fri May 16, 2014 16:09

I every time do full system updates and upgrades in cli, my equo --version is ver.282. I o not use Rigo very offten, but sometimes it crashes...I think it bug in Rigo, maybe answer is in this lines rigo[4761]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f10b0c91410 sp 00007fff85cd1a40 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f10b0c6b000+a1000], but i do not know what it means :(
Image
User avatar
Minda
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:45

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby sabayonino » Fri May 16, 2014 18:00

Minda wrote:I every time do full system updates and upgrades in cli, my equo --version is ver.282. I o not use Rigo very offten, but sometimes it crashes...I think it bug in Rigo, maybe answer is in this lines rigo[4761]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f10b0c91410 sp 00007fff85cd1a40 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f10b0c6b000+a1000], but i do not know what it means :(

Hi

libtvte2...
Code: Select all
# locate libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0
/usr/lib64/libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0


Code: Select all
# equo query belongs /usr/lib64/libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0
╠  @@ Ricerca Appartenenza
╠      @@ Pacchetto: x11-libs/vte-0.36.0 branch: 5, [__system__]
╠          Installato:    versione: 0.36.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Slot:          2.90
╠          Homepage:      https://wiki.gnome.org/action/show/Apps/Terminal/VTE
╠          Descrizione:   Library providing a virtual terminal
╠                         emulator widget
╠          Licenza:       LGPL-2+
╠   Keyword:  /usr/lib64/libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0
╠   Trovati:  1 voce


try to (re)install x11-libs/vte

or run "vte" as root or user
Code: Select all
# vte
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2587
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: Is Rigo crashing?

Postby Minda » Fri May 16, 2014 18:34

Hi. I do exactly as you wrot, i reinstall x11-libs/vte, but Rigo crash, and the same happens. In dmesg i see the same line
rigo[27947]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fb792e1f410 sp 00007fff4d5f0eb0 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7fb792df9000+a1000]
[15470.262094] rigo[27994]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f9224ea9410 sp 00007fff47b4a520 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f9224e83000+a1000]
[15477.571394] rigo[28197]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f6e4d2c2410 sp 00007fff74c7abf0 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f6e4d29c000+a1000]
[15524.280109] rigo[28354]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fd57d4d6410 sp 00007fffa4202230 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7fd57d4b0000+a1000]
[15574.351702] rigo[28673]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fb3a9c2f410 sp 00007fffedf34d30 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7fb3a9c09000+a1000]
[15716.734698] rigo[28732]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f51ffa94410 sp 00007fff46f45680 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f51ffa6e000+a1000]
[15736.746391] rigo[29048]: segfault at 0 ip 00007fd79e5ff410 sp 00007fff4e4d52a0 error 4 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7fd79e5d9000+a1000]
[15770.118687] rigo[29151]: segfault at 58 ip 00007ff6a2ee95c4 sp 00007ff68a380f90 error 4 in libpython2.7.so.1.0[7ff6a2e0e000+170000]
[15887.889566] libvte2_90.so.9[29170]: segfault at 1 ip 0000000000000001 sp 00007fff7806ebf8 error 14 in libvte2_90.so.9.3600.0[7f1519828000+a1000]
Thanks for your help, but this dont work....i think this is the gnome 3.12.1 fault....in gnome 3.10 Rigo work without any issue :(
Image
User avatar
Minda
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:45

Next

Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron