How To install pyRenamer ?

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby Emilien76 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:46

Hi,
I want to install pyRenamer on Sabayon 11 XFCE but I have never compiled an app so any help would be great...
Emilien76
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:35

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby wolfden » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:11

If you are not familiar with portage we do not recommend it to users, instead file a package request so it can be added to the repo:
viewtopic.php?f=76&t=13891
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby Emilien76 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 13:51

Ok but if I need pyRenamer this week? Is it so hard to compile this app ?
Emilien76
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:35

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby aia » Tue Feb 19, 2013 15:19

Hi Emilien76,

You can download the code from official site and then read the README and INSTALL and you will understand what you have to do and if it is hard or not.
I think the compile is not so hard but depends in which state is your system.I mean that the most difficult part in the compilation is when lets say one application starts to ask for library or dependencies and then you have to compile all these one by one.Maybe in the end of the day to don't remember which was the initial program that you wanted to compile.Xa:)
But also in that way you learn the tree application which is most important.

Alternative for rename or convert multiply files you can play with this command:
Code: Select all
convert

Lets says that you have 5 .jpg images with different name and you want to rename all these.
run:
Code: Select all
convert *.jpg 0.jpg

You have to be in the same directory with your files.
p.s Convert is not exactly for rename files but for convert files but if you don't put any flag in front of this you can rename.It works for me!
aia
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:43

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby sabayonino » Tue Feb 19, 2013 18:47

@ aia

Why download from the home site ?

pyrename is in portage tree
Code: Select all
ys-apps/pyrenamer
     Available versions:  ~0.6.0-r1 {{debug music}}
     Homepage:            http://www.infinicode.org/code/pyrenamer/
     Description:         Mass rename files


He can try use portage :

Sync Portage tree and Sabayon Overlay
Code: Select all
# emerge --sync && layman -S


After a first sync , he can install pyrename
Code: Select all
# emerge pyrename


if compile goes fine :

edit /etc/entropy/client.conf

make sure :
ignore-spm-downgrades=enable

then
Code: Select all
# equo rescue spmsync


good luck
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2584
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby Emilien76 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 19:34

Thanks, I will try to do that
Emilien76
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:35

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby aia » Tue Feb 19, 2013 22:25

@sabayonino because @Emilien76 asked

Is it so hard to compile this app ?

the first reason.
The second i don't think that is good practise for newbie users to use both equo and emerge.
The result from
Code: Select all
equo search pyrename

found 0 entries.
aia
Young Hen
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:43

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby Stupot » Tue Feb 19, 2013 22:50

While it's not a great idea to use portage on an entropy system if you can avoid it, it's much better to use portage than to install outside of any package management at all.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1549
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby wolfden » Tue Feb 19, 2013 23:00

Yes, always use one of the provided package managers first. Going outside of them, we do not support at all, one is on his own if they do.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: How To install pyRenamer ?

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Tue Feb 19, 2013 23:37

sabayonino wrote:
Code: Select all
# emerge --sync && layman -S

You should add and sync the Sabayon overlay as well:
Code: Select all
# layman -a sabayon && layman -s sabayon
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Next

Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest