What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby tekwyzrd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 23:40

Portato is gone, himerge is gone... the only portage gui I can find for x86_64 is porthole. Adding to this is the annoying fact that some malfunction is preventing me from adding ANY overlays. All attempts end the same. My install is completely up-to-date

as root:

layman -d sabayon

* Deleting selected overlays,...
* Repository 'sabayon' was not installed

* CLI: Errors occured processing action delete
* Repository 'sabayon' was not installed

layman -a sabayon

* Adding overlay,...
* Adding repository "sabayon" failed!

* CLI: Errors occured processing action add
* Adding repository "sabayon" failed!
Last edited by tekwyzrd on Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:23, edited 2 times in total.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio


Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Postby tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 0:05

sabayonino wrote:install dev-vcs/git to work with Sabayon Overlay


Thanks. I never had to manually add git before (x86). Unfortunately my old athlon 2600+ computer died forcing me to throw together something to use for now. This dual irwindale xeon setup is my first install and use of sabayon x86_64.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:29

Kuroo 4 is in the gentoo-guis overlay and is reportedly quite stable:

What happened with Kuroo?

Kuroo 4...
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Postby tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:22

@Fitzcarraldo

Thanks - I forgot about kuroo.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:27

On a separate note, having seen your first post, don't forget that the old monolithic Sabayon overlay was split into two overlays: sabayon and sabayon-distro. So you need to add both of them if you want to use Portage with SL: Sabayon Linux developers split the Portage sabayon overlay into two new overlays
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 21:44

Thanks. I was wondering about the presence of sabayon and sabayon-distro overlays in the list but hadn't investigated it yet. Might be worth addition to the layman section of the portage how-to.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby albfneto » Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:03

If you plain to use both Portage and Entropy, remember to edit the file: /etc/entropy/client.conf, and in the line:
about "ignore pseudo downgrades", change "disable" to "enable".

This is in order to avoid that Entropy (equo, rigo) propose downgrades aa upgrades.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby eris23 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:14

I don't see "ignore pseudo downgrades". I do see "ignore-spm-downgrades". Are these the same?
eris23
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:53

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:47

Yes, it's a mistake by albfneto. The correct syntax is "ignore-spm-downgrades = <parameter>".

Code: Select all
# Ignore SPM (Portage) pseudo-downgrades
# USE AT YOUR OWN RISK, IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT'S THIS OPTION
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# This option permits to skip packages with Entropy revision 9999
# from being treaten as downgrades. This usually happens when
# migrating from Portage to Entropy
# Valid parameters: disable, enable, true, false, disabled, enabled, 0, 1
# Default parameter if unset: disable
ignore-spm-downgrades = disable
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest