What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by tekwyzrd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 23:40

Portato is gone, himerge is gone... the only portage gui I can find for x86_64 is porthole. Adding to this is the annoying fact that some malfunction is preventing me from adding ANY overlays. All attempts end the same. My install is completely up-to-date

as root:

layman -d sabayon

* Deleting selected overlays,...
* Repository 'sabayon' was not installed

* CLI: Errors occured processing action delete
* Repository 'sabayon' was not installed

layman -a sabayon

* Adding overlay,...
* Adding repository "sabayon" failed!

* CLI: Errors occured processing action add
* Adding repository "sabayon" failed!
Last edited by tekwyzrd on Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:23, edited 2 times in total.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3155
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Post by sabayonino » Fri Jun 08, 2012 23:42

install dev-vcs/git to work with Sabayon Overlay
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Post by tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 0:05

sabayonino wrote:install dev-vcs/git to work with Sabayon Overlay


Thanks. I never had to manually add git before (x86). Unfortunately my old athlon 2600+ computer died forcing me to throw together something to use for now. This dual irwindale xeon setup is my first install and use of sabayon x86_64.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 11:29

Kuroo 4 is in the gentoo-guis overlay and is reportedly quite stable:

What happened with Kuroo?

Kuroo 4...

tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs?

Post by tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:22

@Fitzcarraldo

Thanks - I forgot about kuroo.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sat Jun 09, 2012 19:27

On a separate note, having seen your first post, don't forget that the old monolithic Sabayon overlay was split into two overlays: sabayon and sabayon-distro. So you need to add both of them if you want to use Portage with SL: Sabayon Linux developers split the Portage sabayon overlay into two new overlays

tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by tekwyzrd » Sat Jun 09, 2012 21:44

Thanks. I was wondering about the presence of sabayon and sabayon-distro overlays in the list but hadn't investigated it yet. Might be worth addition to the layman section of the portage how-to.
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1842
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by albfneto » Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:03

If you plain to use both Portage and Entropy, remember to edit the file: /etc/entropy/client.conf, and in the line:
about "ignore pseudo downgrades", change "disable" to "enable".

This is in order to avoid that Entropy (equo, rigo) propose downgrades aa upgrades.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

eris23
Simple Hen
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:53

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by eris23 » Sun Nov 25, 2012 7:14

I don't see "ignore pseudo downgrades". I do see "ignore-spm-downgrades". Are these the same?

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8091
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: What happened to the portage GUIs? [Solved]

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:47

Yes, it's a mistake by albfneto. The correct syntax is "ignore-spm-downgrades = <parameter>".

Code: Select all

# Ignore SPM (Portage) pseudo-downgrades
# USE AT YOUR OWN RISK, IF YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT'S THIS OPTION
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!        SKIP IT       !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
# This option permits to skip packages with Entropy revision 9999
# from being treaten as downgrades. This usually happens when
# migrating from Portage to Entropy
# Valid parameters: disable, enable, true, false, disabled, enabled, 0, 1
# Default parameter if unset: disable
ignore-spm-downgrades = disable

Post Reply