a question in general from a total noob about equo and emerg

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Pluribootent
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 23:53

a question in general from a total noob about equo and emerg

Post by Pluribootent » Sun Sep 07, 2008 13:45

im new to sabayon - only know debian a little. can someone tell me the difference between equo and emerge. sometimes i install things using equo - and they dont work so i try emerge and they work. and vice versa.
is it ok to switch between those two? or should one only use one and stick to it.
emerge world often gives me errors or tell me my system is up to date - if i try equo world suddenly there ARE updates.

i installed sabayon 3.5 from the live dvd a few days ago.

thanks


joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2676
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: a question in general from a total noob about equo and emerg

Post by joost » Mon Sep 08, 2008 16:34

sometimes i install things using equo - and they dont work
Things like what?
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

Pluribootent
Baby Hen
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 23:53

Re: a question in general from a total noob about equo and emerg

Post by Pluribootent » Wed Sep 10, 2008 15:03

things like bzflag. it didnt work with equo. so i emerged it and it worked. and i can read and i have already reda the wiki articles, thank you. but still, i may be really stupid, but i dont understand why emerge AND equo is possible. doesnt make sense to me. (because i may really be stupid). if i do emerge world - i get no updates - then i do equo world and i get 50 updates. something isnt working correctly.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2676
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: a question in general from a total noob about equo and emerg

Post by joost » Wed Sep 10, 2008 23:57

i fixed bzflag in entropy.

If you ever have problems with programs not starting. Open a terminal and start it from there and if it fails simply post it in the forums or report it as a bug so we can fix it.

:D
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

Post Reply