Emerge eclipse took up all disk space

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Emerge eclipse took up all disk space

Postby anujit » Fri Aug 22, 2008 21:09

I am new to these source based linux. I have used Ubuntu before and decided that I wanted to try Gentoo based system.
I installed DVD version of sabayon with 15 GB root Partition.
My goal is to use it mainly for JAVA development as I m trying to be windows free.
I installed JDK 6 successfully, got it set as main JVM using java-config
Then I was looking to install eclipse. When I looked at the Spritz package manager it showed me eclipse version 3.3
and when i did emerge -s eclipse it gave me 3 options with eclipse 3.4
So i decided to use emerge route.
Picked up the eclipse sdk and did emrge on it.
It kept on running for eternity and finally said low on disk space gave error and stopped. It actually consumed all 15 GB space
when I did df.
And now I m not sure how to proceed further.
I will try to post the actual commands I ran in some time

Another thing is I do see multiple versions of same software. How to get rid of old one ? Spritz doesnt show them, but I saw them on disk
anujit
Baby Hen

Re: Emerge eclipse took up all disk space

Postby wolfden » Sat Aug 23, 2008 0:23

15gb, that's all??

Your DVD install probablly took 10-11gb

If you really want to run the dvd and have room to work, 40gb is needed.

Otherwise run the installer and choose core-install and go light weight. You have to understand that portage needs room to work and if you are to compile large programs the more it needs. I don't remember the exact numbers but if you compile like OpenOffice, portage will use several GBs to compile it. Remember you are downloading, extracting, compiling stuff and it needs the room to work.

With today's prices on hard drives, space should be the least of your problems - let it breath
wolfden
Sharecropper

Postby anujit » Sat Aug 23, 2008 1:55