Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start [Solved]

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Tautrimas
Growing Hen
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 21:03
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas - Vilnius
Contact:

Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start [Solved]

Post by Tautrimas » Sun Dec 30, 2007 19:45

Hello!

Got one problem. I did "equo install kdebase-meta --ask" (while running KDE) and it updated me from 3.5.7 to 3.5.8. Logged of, Ctrl+alt+baskspace... System failed to load KDM. Then I logged in as root into console, tried /etc/init.d/xdm restart, but it showed:

Code: Select all

kdm: error while loading shared libraries: libxcb-xlib.so.0. cannot open shared object file: no such file or directory

Now I lack knowledge on how to try to fix all this mess and start using KDE again. I need help (: Should I reinstall KDE, or any other ideas? And if reinstall, then how.

P.S. I'm writting to you from Gnome, which works. Current version: Sabayon Linux 3.4f
Last edited by Tautrimas on Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:03, edited 1 time in total.

momocore
Simple Hen
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by momocore » Sun Dec 30, 2007 20:39

did you do a revdep-rebuild -x?

Tautrimas
Growing Hen
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 21:03
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas - Vilnius
Contact:

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by Tautrimas » Sun Dec 30, 2007 20:40

No. Should I?

momocore
Simple Hen
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by momocore » Sun Dec 30, 2007 20:45

Yes, try that, follow the prompts, then let us know if it worked

Tautrimas
Growing Hen
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 21:03
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas - Vilnius
Contact:

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by Tautrimas » Sun Dec 30, 2007 21:58

Hmm, with smallcaps -x it says that emerge has no command -x. Now I ran it with -X (looked at manpage a bit). However, it threw me an emerge command:

Code: Select all

emerge --oneshot -x -a =app-antivirus/klamav-0.41 =media-libs/libkexiv2-0.1.5 =media-libs/libkdcraw-0.1.2 =media-gfx/digikam-0.9.3_beta1 =kde-base/ksysguard-3.5.8 =kde-base/kmenuedit-3.5.8 =kde-base/kpager-3.5.8 =kde-base/konsole-3.5.8 =kde-base/libkonq-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdm-3.5.8-r10 =kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.8-r10 =kde-base/ksplashml-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdcop-3.5.8 =kde-base/khotkeys-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdialog-3.5.8 =kde-base/kxkb-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdebugdialog-3.5.8 =kde-base/ksmserver-3.5.8 =kde-base/kwin-3.5.8 =kde-base/kicker-3.5.8-r10 =kde-base/khelpcenter-3.5.8 =kde-base/kcminit-3.5.8 =kde-base/nsplugins-3.5.8 =kde-base/knetattach-3.5.8 =kde-base/kghostview-3.5.8 =kde-base/ktip-3.5.8 =kde-base/drkonqi-3.5.8 =kde-base/konqueror-3.5.8 =kde-base/kcontrol-3.5.8-r10 =kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves-3.5.8 =kde-base/ksystraycmd-3.5.8 =kde-base/kstart-3.5.8 =kde-base/kappfinder-3.5.8 =kde-base/kfind-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdepasswd-3.5.8 =kde-base/arts-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdeprint-3.5.8 =kde-base/kreadconfig-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdesu-3.5.8 =kde-base/kpersonalizer-3.5.8 =kde-base/kdesktop-3.5.8 =kde-base/klipper-3.5.8 =kde-base/konsolekalendar-3.5.7 =kde-base/kate-3.5.8 =kde-base/kscreensaver-3.5.8 =app-office/openoffice-2.3.0

Can you advise me what to do next? Its way too much to emerge. I would rather reinstall my system. Or can I use equo on these? And ne more thing. It warned me, that everything will be merged randomly, because of a masking or package not being in portage. I don't reall imagine, who is responsible for this (except me of course).

CygX-1
Baby Hen
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 19:19

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by CygX-1 » Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:12

I had the same issue with libxcb-xlib.so.0. Solved it by doing an

Code: Select all

emerge -1 libxcb

Tautrimas
Growing Hen
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 21:03
Location: Lithuania, Kaunas - Vilnius
Contact:

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start

Post by Tautrimas » Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:02

Worked! Thank you CygX-1.

eris23
Simple Hen
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:53

Re: Updated KDE through EQUO and now KDM doesn't start [Solved]

Post by eris23 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 11:17

I updated ktorrent with equo. It wouldn't start (complained of missing libxcb library). Used equo to install that. Success!

Was there a missing dependency? I noticed that nspr and nss had been correctly pulled in with ktorrent.

Post Reply