Can't emerge portato

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
JimH
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 22:50

Can't emerge portato

Post by JimH » Sat Dec 15, 2007 0:27

Hi,

I'm new to Sabayon, so far I like it very much. I am trying to emerge portato but it tells me that a package can't be installed because it conflicts with another package already installed. I am doing this right after I install Sabayon, nothing but the OS is installed. How can I ever install portato if it conflicts with something that is included with the OS?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Can't emerge portato

Post by wolfden » Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:56

Without posting any errors it's pretty tough?

what does it conflict with, remove the offending one

JimH
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 22:50

Re: Can't emerge portato

Post by JimH » Sat Dec 15, 2007 3:31

I'll post exactly what it says when I get home tonight...

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2669
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Can't emerge portato

Post by joost » Sat Dec 15, 2007 11:30

I bet it's the portatosourceview package. If so, unmerge it as you dont need it anymore, and try again.

Post Reply