How and where do i add utempter

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

How and where do i add utempter

Postby zman » Tue Oct 23, 2007 20:27

when i "emerge kde-base/kdelibs" i get this message..

On some setups, which rely on the correct update of utmp records, not using
* utempter might not update them correctly. If you experience unexpected
* behaviour, try to rebuild kde-base/kdelibs with utempter use-flag enabled.

where and how do i add this "utempter use-flag enabled"?
Do i put this im my make.conf under USE flag and in what order do i type this? is it something like "utempter=enabled"

Thank you
zman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 18:06

Re: How and where do i add utempter

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Oct 23, 2007 21:01

Why do you think you need to add it? I rather have my doubts you do:

http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml

But if you want to anyway, it's a local USE flag (as opposed to a global USE flag):

http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/use-index.xml
http://gentoo-portage.com/USE

so you would rebuild kdelibs in accordance with the rules given on the following page for USE flags:

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... art2_chap2

So, to build it once:

Code: Select all
USE="utempter" emerge -v kdelibs


and to make sure it always builds that way in future add the utempter USE flag to the existing kdelibs line in /etc/portage/package.use and then:

Code: Select all
emerge -v kdelibs


as usual.

I recommend you read the Gentoo Handbook, especially the introduction to Portage, and the SL Wiki guide to Portage.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7997
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron