emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby mikey0000 » Fri Oct 12, 2007 21:08

i have null idea how emerge is doing this as ive set up http proxies and ftp and even rsync
and it continues to use ftp and i dont know where to change it. (becouse i cant ftp)which is the uni's fault
any help would be great thanks
triple Booting Mac-osx 10.6, Sabayon Linux and Windows 7

2.5 athlon dual core
DFI infinity mobo
2 gb of DDR2 800 G skill ram 3.3.3.12
nvidia 9600gt
housed in a thermaltake taser III case with 7 fans - all turned off lol
mikey0000
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:33
Location: Dunedin New Zealand

Re: emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby DontPanic » Sat Oct 13, 2007 6:31

If I understand your question correctly, you can set the default mirror with an option line in your make.conf file.

In my /etc/make.conf file, I have the following line to use Georgia Tech's http mirror:

Code: Select all
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo "
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby mikey0000 » Sat Oct 13, 2007 8:17

close but no cigar, emerge is using http mirrors and http mirrors, http first
im behind a proxy and emerge is using a ftp proxy instead of a http
ill leave the output here :

localhost michael # emerge sun-jdk
Calculating dependencies... done!
>>> Verifying ebuild Manifests...

>>> Emerging (1 of 1) dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0-r2 to /
>>> Downloading 'http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/jdk-6-dlj-linux-i586.bin'
Error in proxy URL "ftp":[email protected]:3128: Must be HTTP.
>>> Downloading 'http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo/distfiles/jdk-6-dlj-linux-i586.bin'
Error in proxy URL ftp:[email protected]:3128: Must be HTTP.
>>> Downloading 'http://download.java.net/dlj/binaries/jdk-6-dlj-linux-i586.bin'
Error in proxy URL ftp:[email protected] ... ac.nz:3128: Must be HTTP.
!!! Couldn't download 'jdk-6-dlj-linux-i586.bin'. Aborting.

the part which is important i have quotated, that needs to be http ...how do i change that?
and ive removed my username and password for obvious reasons
triple Booting Mac-osx 10.6, Sabayon Linux and Windows 7

2.5 athlon dual core
DFI infinity mobo
2 gb of DDR2 800 G skill ram 3.3.3.12
nvidia 9600gt
housed in a thermaltake taser III case with 7 fans - all turned off lol
mikey0000
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:33
Location: Dunedin New Zealand

Re: emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby DontPanic » Sat Oct 13, 2007 14:27

You may have already tried this, but have you entered a command like this:

Code: Select all
# export http_proxy="http:[email protected]:3128"


I found that in the Gentoo Handbook Chapter on setting up your network behind a proxy.

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=3
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby mikey0000 » Sat Oct 13, 2007 20:19

yea thats actually refering to the files proxy.sh and proxy.csh or 99local so its no help, you cant just issue that command in console even if i could it would still make no difference. somewhere emerge has its proxy set to ftp.
triple Booting Mac-osx 10.6, Sabayon Linux and Windows 7

2.5 athlon dual core
DFI infinity mobo
2 gb of DDR2 800 G skill ram 3.3.3.12
nvidia 9600gt
housed in a thermaltake taser III case with 7 fans - all turned off lol
mikey0000
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:33
Location: Dunedin New Zealand

Re: emerge using ftp proxy need it to use http

Postby mikey0000 » Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:36

i found out emerge uses wget so i placed the http proxy in the wget config file and it overrides the settings so solved.
now who the heck invented this terrible way of doing proxyies lol. Well theres my second project to get into when i start learning c++
now how do i configure rsync??? to use my proxy?
triple Booting Mac-osx 10.6, Sabayon Linux and Windows 7

2.5 athlon dual core
DFI infinity mobo
2 gb of DDR2 800 G skill ram 3.3.3.12
nvidia 9600gt
housed in a thermaltake taser III case with 7 fans - all turned off lol
mikey0000
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 0:33
Location: Dunedin New Zealand


Return to Portage|Emerge Package Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests