getting back original portage tree

Anything that pertains to Portage

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
chandrahas9
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:25

getting back original portage tree

Post by chandrahas9 » Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:31

hi... i tried emerge --sync.. it worked fine... but the prob is emerge over-writes the portage tree...(it erases the prev tree)...sabayon comes with a customized selection of packages...i want that back.... can i get back my original tree???? also... is there a way to sync without destroying the tree???
thanks in advance....

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: getting back original portage tree

Post by wolfden » Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:35

Sabayon uses portage, there is nothing special about that. Over time portage changes, packages update or get dropped, it's always changing. It's important to stay up to date with these changes.

Sabayon also has it's own overlay with it's own special packages. The overlay also changes to reflect the new updates the devs do. It's also important to stay up to date with that.


What packages are you looking for? Explain more details?

chandrahas9
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:25

Re: getting back original portage tree

Post by chandrahas9 » Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:42

mostly games... and a few other apps... most of the core apps are still present... but games like quake..savage...n some others r missing... i synced emerge since i thought i could get the latest versions...but now when i do emerge --search <app_name>..it says not found (not all)... is there any sabayon mirror to which i can sync my sys with????

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: getting back original portage tree

Post by wolfden » Tue Sep 25, 2007 8:00

Something isn't right here

Take a look here:
http://gentoo-portage.com/Browse
That will show you stuff in portage. SabayonLinux uses portage, like I said, nothing special.

Savage -- http://gentoo-portage.com/Search?search=savage
emerge savage-bin

layman -S <--will sync you to SabonLinux overlay

upon a fresh install you want to
emerge --sync && layman -S

maybe you're not using the correct names

Post Reply