How to Update Compiz Fusion

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by wolfden » Tue Aug 28, 2007 21:59

Phough wrote:Maybe i solved my problem. I have add line "x11-wm/compiz **" to my package.keywords. Accualy it is not mentioned in the howto. I noticed that package is noticed in script. And the "error" has said it to me as well. Hope that this solve my problem. But anyway thanks wolfden for this howto.
Yes you are correct - Fixed it now. Sometimes writing this stuff out and with it changing so much it's hard to get it all. Thanks!

ashley194
Technological Hen
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 21:54
Location: Manchester, UK.

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by ashley194 » Tue Aug 28, 2007 22:03

Just followed your how-to (to the letter), rebooted & I'm stuck in kwin :cry: Ah well, I'll re-install the lot again tomorrow...

Phough
Baby Hen
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 13:30

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by Phough » Tue Aug 28, 2007 23:37

ashley194 wrote:Just followed your how-to (to the letter), rebooted & I'm stuck in kwin :cry: Ah well, I'll re-install the lot again tomorrow...
Script worked on my PC well. But afte restart kwin was there. So I tried compiz-start, this didnt work either. I emerged fusion-icon and now it works. Try it

sjeter
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 14:09
Location: Near Houston, TX

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by sjeter » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:17

OK, I followed everything exactly including the USE flag for xcb and I'm getting the following:
>>> Emerging (1 of 16) x11-wm/compiz-9999 to /
* checking ebuild checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking auxfile checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* checking miscfile checksums ;-) ... [ ok ]
* Compiz now requires libX11 to be built with xcb.
* Please build libX11 with USE="xcb"

!!! ERROR: x11-wm/compiz-9999 failed.
Call stack:
ebuild.sh, line 1637: Called dyn_setup
ebuild.sh, line 704: Called qa_call 'pkg_setup'
ebuild.sh, line 44: Called pkg_setup
compiz-9999.ebuild, line 47: Called die

!!! Build libX11 with USE="xcb"
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
!!! A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-wm/compiz-9999/temp/build.log'.

!!! This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/portage/local/layman/xeffects'

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by wolfden » Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:38

than

Code: Select all

emerge x11-libs/libX11

sjeter
Simple Hen
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 14:09
Location: Near Houston, TX

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by sjeter » Wed Aug 29, 2007 4:46

Perfecto (wobble, wobble, spin, spin). Thanks, Wolfden.

BlueJayofEvil
Growing Hen
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:30
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by BlueJayofEvil » Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:27

Everything worked, but the guide is missing the part where you emerge fusion-icon. Can it be included in the script or does it have to be last or something? I did it before removing the xeffects layman.

EDIT: I got that one error mentioned in the other thread after trying to start fusion-icon (the one about qt/gtk/whatever not being able to initiate). But this advice from wolfden helped:
It has to be from the missing use flags.

look in your /etc/make.conf

the important flags that are missing are:
qt4 qt3 qt3support gtk sdl png gif opengl

so if you add them to that file in the USE= area, than reinstall fusion-icon, it will get built with the correct usages

sicknessjb
Simple Hen
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 15:10
Location: WPB FL USA
Contact:

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by sicknessjb » Wed Aug 29, 2007 22:49

walkthrough worked fine now lol just emerge the fusion icon and start playing with the settings again. 8)
3.4F FTW!
Intel P4 w/HT 3.2ghz - 2GB PC3200 - ATI X850 256MB PRO
Image

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by wolfden » Wed Aug 29, 2007 23:48

hmmmm ok, so I added emerge fusion-icon to the howto

sicknessjb
Simple Hen
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 15:10
Location: WPB FL USA
Contact:

Re: How to Update Compiz Fusion **8/28/07**

Post by sicknessjb » Thu Aug 30, 2007 1:39

hey wolfden would you happen to know how one would go about restoring the sabayon-fusion settings? i may have to just mirror off my laptop default sayabon settings
3.4F FTW!
Intel P4 w/HT 3.2ghz - 2GB PC3200 - ATI X850 256MB PRO
Image

Post Reply