Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by wolfden » Thu Oct 18, 2007 21:50

mattstayzs wrote:I just started using ubuntu again, after i upgraded my PC . But my new x1650 PRO just will no run compiz.

I don't know why, all my ATI drivers have been updated .
If you're running ubuntu than ask them, not us.

Gigadelic IIDX
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:27
Contact:

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by Gigadelic IIDX » Sun Oct 21, 2007 19:23

Geforce FX 5500 works fine
Geforce 6200 works fine

no probs from both cards
Image

gravious
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 4:43

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by gravious » Sun Oct 21, 2007 19:45

ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE) rev 0
(PCIE card on a Compaq R4218EA - Presario R4000 laptop)
Not using shared system memory. Full 128MB sideport memory.

Never worked before! GLX acceleration worked out of the box with MiniEdition 3.4
Nice work people, I thought I'd never see the day *grin*

Slartarama
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:45

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by Slartarama » Sat Nov 10, 2007 23:43

ATI Radeon Mobility x1400-working after a lot of fighting and luck(I think).

First this is the only distro that I could even come close to getting it to run on at all.

The first install I made I left the Live DVD in at the end when rebooting and it asked my choice of desktop acceleration. I was able to get the 3D running through ATI Catalyst Control Center and rebooting. I played with the settings and messed up something so back that I had to reinstall(I'm new to Linux and had no clue what to do to fix it). 2nd install, took the Live DVD out after install and rebooted in new installation. NO option for XGL or whatever and I couldn't get compiz to start. I did one more reintall to see if I missed anything, did the exact same thing as I did on the first install.(Booting to Live DVD first)

It's weird, the Live DVD worked right out of the box, but on my HDD install it didn't load. I tried compiz-start and it errored out. I had to go into the ATI Catalyst Control Center again and set the 3d settings, two check boxes and I set them both to 8x on the slider. Rebooted and it worked. Very buggy at first but after tweaking the compiz settings it works great.

I still get a strange thing with the cube after a reboot, there are little green icons when I move it, like a really bad wallpaper, but I found(after messing with settings) if I go to Compiz options from the compiz fusion icon and turn off indirect rendering, then it reloads itself and works smoothly. If it is unchecked I have to check it and let it reload. I don't know why but toggling between that checked and unchecked seems to get the cube working perfectly.

The whole system runs a little slower(not too bad) with compiz on and I don't dare mess with too many settings or it sometimes locks up and I have to hard boot. But all in all I have it working now and it is pretty cool. I don't know if the live DVD giving me the option for desktop acceleration was a key in getting compiz to run, but both times I booted to it first and then turned on the 3d in ATICCC wokred. The time I just booted to HDD and then tried ATICCC 3D settings it didn't.

Thanks for this distro, I really like it. Easy to use and full featured.

SpawN
Baby Hen
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 19:07

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by SpawN » Mon Nov 19, 2007 20:31

last.karrde wrote:Asus Extreme Nvidia 8600gt (512mb GDDR3 RAM)

Works out of the box
Like me :D

[size=0]Image[/size]

seminoles1
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:57

Help with Compiz !!!!

Post by seminoles1 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 12:01

NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE

Is what I have and I cant get it to work on the Sabayon 1.1 professional 86 x64

any help would be greatly appreciated

seminoles1
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:57

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by seminoles1 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 18:25

I am lost...any help?
emerge --update world
Calculating world dependencies |
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=app-crypt/opencdk-0.6.4" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- app-crypt/opencdk-0.6.4 (masked by: ~amd64 keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "net-libs/gnutls-2.0.1" [ebuild])



!!! Problem resolving dependencies for net-libs/gnutls
!!! Depgraph creation failed.
localhost ~ # desktop-acceleration-helpers
-su: desktop-acceleration-helpers: command not found
localhost ~ # emerge compiz-fusion
Calculating dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "compiz-fusion" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.5.2 (masked by: ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-wm/compiz-fusion-0.6.0 (masked by: ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-wm/compiz-fusion-9999 (masked by: missing keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

I am running a NVIDIA GeForce 6150 LE

and I cant get it to work on the Sabayon 1.1 professional 86 x64

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by wolfden » Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:42

~shakes his head~

why are you posting in this thread?!?!

why are you doing emerge --update world??

do you even understand portage??

Sabayon PE doesn't come with Compiz by default!

do you know what you are doing at all? cause it sure don't look like it from here.


First learn the Operating system! A world update for a newb is not going to work. There has been too many changes in portage.
Read Read Read the documentation.

WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Compiz-Fusion Video Card List

Post by WarraWarra » Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:24

LOL
Dell Laptop 17" video cards can be added for e1705 and XPS M1710 / 9300

Not sure about new e1710 cards 8xxx cards.

Dell Nvidia laptop pcie 7800gtx
Dell Nvidia laptop pcie 7900gs
Dell Nvidia laptop pcie 7950gtx

Locked