How to setup the locales? [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: How to setup the locales? [Solved]

Post by msdobrescu » Tue May 12, 2020 5:58

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 1:00
The KDE edition of SL (Sabayon Linux).
Is there a specific package or meta?
What do you recommend?
Last edited by msdobrescu on Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:18, edited 1 time in total.

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: How to setup the locales?

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Tue May 12, 2020 7:40

Yes, the Daily ISO: http://sabayonlinux.mirror.garr.it/mirr ... 64_KDE.iso

I suggest you make a backup of your documents, music, pictures etc. from the home directory, then install SL KDE from the latest ISO.

Also have a look in the file /home/msdobrescu/.config/plasma-localerc to make sure it contains the locale:

Code: Select all

$ cat ~/.config/plasma-localerc
[Formats]
LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
You could try editing it to add the other desired settings in there as well:

Code: Select all

[Formats]
LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_TIME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_COLLATE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_MESSAGES=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_NAME=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=en_GB.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=en_GB.UTF-8
useDetailed=true
Alternatively, deleting that file should make KDE Plasma pick up the values of these variables from the system settings (see my previous posts).

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: How to setup the locales?

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:17

Hi, I have found the problem in /etc/env.d/02locale, there was a character introduced probably by mistake.
Works fine now, thanks.

toni.rth
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2020 12:52

Re: How to setup the locales? [Solved]

Post by toni.rth » Mon Aug 03, 2020 19:28

Thanks for sharing the solution. But I have a question, why this locale file is located into env.d folder? I would expect to find this config file into /etc/ folder directly, do you know if there is some wrapper service on top using this one instead of the default one? thanks
Gamer lover, now married with AMD Ryzen

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 876
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: How to setup the locales? [Solved]

Post by msdobrescu » Tue Aug 04, 2020 16:49

I have no idea, as I am not that advanced with Linux standards, but seems it is Gentoo and derived.

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1793
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: How to setup the locales? [Solved]

Post by Stupot » Tue Aug 04, 2020 17:25

The folder.d/ convention is something that can commonly be found as a way to organize config files. Putting all configuration into 1 file is often problematic, so instead you split config into multiple files and put it under <relevant>.d/

Not everything works that way (the application has to support that), but that's the idea behind it.

Examples:
/etc/entropy/repositories.conf.d/
/etc/modprobe.d/
/etc/pam.d/
and many more.

Post Reply