Page 1 of 2

Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 23:45
by nomorelogic
hi all
I recently installed plasma 5 (equo up && equo u) but now I have some problems with login: I insert the password and click the login button, the screen goes black then returns to the login screen again.
I also have gnome with cinnamon and in this session the login is successful.
Any suggestions on how I could restore the plasma login?

Thanks in advantage
nomorelogic

PS:
congratulations for this excellent distro that I use for several years with great satisfaction

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:42
by joost
I'd try this:

Code: Select all

equo update && equo install x11-themes/sabayon-artwork-kde
We've added some deps to this package to help you migrate to Plasma 5.

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:20
by nomorelogic
unfortunately not solved (I've rebooted too)

during execution on 'equo upgrade' I have some messages

these are the last few lines, maybe help

Code: Select all

...
╠  @@ Scansione file di configurazione da aggiornare!!! SYNC setting found in make.conf.
    This setting is Deprecated and no longer used.  Please ensure your 'sync-type' and 'sync-uri' are set correctly in /etc/portage/repos.conf/gentoo.conf
╠  @@ Nessun file di configurazione da aggiornare.
☛ Ci sono 17 librerie preservate sul sistema
╠ /usr/lib64/libvpx.so.1.3.0 [libvpx.so.1:2 -> media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0]
╠ /usr/lib64/libvpx.so.1.3 [libvpx.so.1:2 -> media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0]
╠ /usr/lib64/libvpx.so.1 [libvpx.so.1:2 -> media-libs/libvpx-1.3.0]
╠ /usr/lib64/libswscale.so.2.1.1 [libswscale.so.2:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libswscale.so.2 [libswscale.so.2:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavutil.so.52.3.0 [libavutil.so.52:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavutil.so.52 [libavutil.so.52:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavformat.so.54.20.4 [libavformat.so.54:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavformat.so.54 [libavformat.so.54:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavcodec.so.54.35.0 [libavcodec.so.54:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libavcodec.so.54 [libavcodec.so.54:2 -> media-video/libav-9.17]
╠ /usr/lib64/libedataserver-1.2.so.18.0.0 [libedataserver-1.2.so.18:2 -> gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.12.11]
╠ /usr/lib64/libedataserver-1.2.so.18 [libedataserver-1.2.so.18:2 -> gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.12.11]
╠ /usr/lib64/libecal-1.2.so.16.0.0 [libecal-1.2.so.16:2 -> gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.12.11]
╠ /usr/lib64/libecal-1.2.so.16 [libecal-1.2.so.16:2 -> gnome-extra/evolution-data-server-3.12.11]
╠ /usr/lib64/libkdecorations.so.4.14.10 [libkdecorations.so.4:2 -> kde-base/kwin-4.11.22]
╠ /usr/lib64/libkdecorations.so.4 [libkdecorations.so.4:2 -> kde-base/kwin-4.11.22]

Edit:
especially the last two lines seem related to KDE 4

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:30
by joost

Code: Select all

equo upgrade --purge
To get rid of packages that are removed from Entropy but are still installed on your system.

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:33
by nomorelogic
maybe there's something wrong in sddm
i try to swith to sddm as following but I get an error

Code: Select all

dhcppc3 home # systemctl disable kdm
dhcppc3 home # systemctl enable sddm
Failed to execute operation: File exists

thanks

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:05
by joost
Maybe the migration already tried to create the symlink for you.

I'd try this:

Code: Select all

systemctl disable sddm
and then

Code: Select all

systemctl enable sddm

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 13:33
by rbrick49
I have a similar problem with plasma5 it boots to a virtual terminal then I have to login and reboot from the vt sometimes it boots into plasma5 and sometimes it goes back to vt this boot it booted from sddm ,I did those couple of codes Joost posted on here maybe they worked this time I will keep testing

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 13:44
by nomorelogic
same error :(

Code: Select all

dhcppc3 home # systemctl disable sddm
dhcppc3 home # systemctl enable sddm
Failed to execute operation: File exists

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 13:44
by rbrick49
no mine just failed again

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 13:56
by nomorelogic
well, I've got a step forward :)

I used this code

Code: Select all

dhcppc3 home # systemctl disable sddm
dhcppc3 home # systemctl enable sddm -f
Removed symlink /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service.
Created symlink from /etc/systemd/system/display-manager.service to /usr/lib64/systemd/system/sddm.service.
now, after a reboot I can access with sddm but I need some work:
1) in login form, session list combo box I don't have any Plasma, only gnome and cinnamon
2) I've a single language: us; I need set italian


Edit:
after a simple second reboot, problem 2 is solved automatically: now I've italian language while "us" is disappeared