Page 2 of 2

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 14:29
by rbrick49
mine is making thr symlink for sddm but the reboot problem still exists.aw well tomorrow is another day,or as Elvis said tomorrow never comes

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 17:47
by nomorelogic
thanks to the suggestions above I've sddm installed but I still have some problems.
To solve it I need some clarification.

I installed sddm and uninstalled kdm and, querying equo:

Code: Select all

dhcppc3 home # equo search kdm
╠  @@ Cercando...
╠   Keyword:  kdm
╠   Trovati:  0 voci

Code: Select all

dhcppc3 home # equo search sddm
╠  @@ Cercando...
╠      @@ Pacchetto: kde-plasma/sddm-kcm-5.4.0 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org] 
╠          Disponibile:   versione: 5.4.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Installato:    versione: 5.4.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Slot:          5
╠          Homepage:      https://projects.kde.org/projects/kdereview/sddm-kcm 
╠          Descrizione:   KDE control module for SDDM 
╠          Licenza:       GPL-2+
╠      @@ Pacchetto: x11-misc/sddm-0.11.0-r1 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org] 
╠          Disponibile:   versione: 0.11.0-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 1
╠          Installato:    versione: 0.11.0-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 1
╠          Slot:          0
╠          Homepage:      https://github.com/sddm/sddm 
╠          Descrizione:   Simple Desktop Display Manager 
╠          Licenza:       CC-BY-3.0 GPL-2+ MIT public-domain
╠      @@ Pacchetto: x11-themes/sabayon-artwork-sddm-base-15 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org] 
╠          Disponibile:   versione: 15 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 1
╠          Installato:    versione: 15 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 1
╠          Slot:          0
╠          Homepage:      http://www.sabayon.org/ 
╠          Descrizione:   Official Sabayon Linux SDDM base 
╠                         Artwork 
╠          Licenza:       CCPL-Attribution-ShareAlike-3.0
╠      @@ Pacchetto: x11-themes/sabayon-artwork-sddm-default-15-r1 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org] 
╠          Disponibile:   versione: 15-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Installato:    versione: 15-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Slot:          0
╠          Homepage:      http://www.sabayon.org/ 
╠          Descrizione:   Official Sabayon Linux SDDM Artwork 
╠          Licenza:       CCPL-Attribution-ShareAlike-3.0
╠   Keyword:  sddm
╠   Trovati:  4 voci
I now have the old login in tty7 and the new sddm login in tty1.
Yes, using Ctrl+Alt+F1 I can login using the one I know as sddm. Using Ctrl+Alt+F7 I've the one i know as kdm.

And here I go in confusion: kdm is uninstalled, what I see in tty7?

The other question is that using TTY7 (KDM), I can see Plasma session but I can't use it (screen go black and returns on login). Using TTY1 (SDDM) I can't find Plasma in sessions combo.

Thanks you all for your time.

nomorelogic

Edit:
PS: this installation was done at beginning of 2013 and I use it every day! Never a problem since then (it's my unique OS and use SL for job too), SL is awesome.

Re: Plasma 5, login fails

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2015 18:08
by nomorelogic
it is my mistake, forgive me for previous post, it was gdm in tty7...
I fixed using:

Code: Select all

systemctl stop gdm
systemctl disable gdm
Now TTY7 is empty and sddm works in TTY1.

I need only to solve Plasma item missing in session list.

thanks

Edit:
solved with reboot

Re: Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:23
by rbrick49
mine is still refusing to boot goes back to virtual terminal login screen.I found this morning if I do a control+alt+delete a couple of times it will boot into sddm

Re: Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:24
by rbrick49
heres my equo output
[email protected] ~ $ su
Password:
ron-pc grumpy # equo search kdm
╠ @@ Searching...
╠ Keywords: kdm
╠ Found: 0 entries
ron-pc grumpy # equo search sddm
╠ @@ Searching...
╠ @@ Package: kde-plasma/sddm-kcm-5.4.0 branch: 5, [sabayon-weekly]
╠ Available: version: 5.4.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0
╠ Installed: version: 5.4.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revis
╠ Slot: 5
╠ Homepage: https://projects.kde.org/projects/k
╠ Description: KDE control module for SDDM
╠ License: GPL-2+
╠ @@ Package: x11-misc/sddm-0.11.0-r1 branch: 5, [sabayo
╠ Available: version: 0.11.0-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ r
╠ Installed: version: 0.11.0-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ r
╠ Slot: 0
╠ Homepage: https://github.com/sddm/sddm
╠ Description: Simple Desktop Display Manager
╠ License: CC-BY-3.0 GPL-2+ MIT public-domain
╠ @@ Package: x11-themes/sabayon-artwork-sddm-base-15 brweekly]
╠ Available: version: 15 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision
╠ Installed: version: 15 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision
╠ Slot: 0
╠ Homepage: http://www.sabayon.org/
╠ Description: Official Sabayon Linux SDDM base
╠ Artwork
╠ License: CCPL-Attribution-ShareAlike-3.0
╠ @@ Package: x11-themes/sabayon-artwork-sddm-default-15bayon-weekly]
╠ Available: version: 15-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revis
╠ Installed: version: 15-r1 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revis
╠ Slot: 0
╠ Homepage: http://www.sabayon.org/
╠ Description: Official Sabayon Linux SDDM Artwork
╠ License: CCPL-Attribution-ShareAlike-3.0
╠ Keywords: sddm
╠ Found: 4 entries

Re: Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:09
by nomorelogic
if you, like me, have gnome you can have active gdm (or some other login manager).
Did you have only KDE or some other as gnome, xfce or lxde?

try:

Code: Select all

equo search gdm

Re: Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 10:22
by rbrick49
I only have plasma5 on this hard drive maybe if I install cinnamon or some other desktop but really I want to keep this as plasma5 only

Re: Plasma 5, login fails [Solved]

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:19
by rbrick49
Installed lightdm plasma is booting fine now