Kde stopped workig after upgrading [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Freier Radikaler
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 16:12

Kde stopped workig after upgrading [Solved]

Post by Freier Radikaler » Sun Nov 09, 2014 15:51

[email protected],

my KDE stopped working after I've done equo update/upgrade this sunday.

It isn't possible to start kde anymore. Login via kdm works fine but after a few seconds there is a black screen and I see kdm-login screen again. /var/log/kdm.log tells me:

Code: Select all

Warning:          Type "ONE_LEVEL" has 1 levels, but <RALT> has 2 symbols
>                   Ignoring extra symbols
Errors from xkbcomp are not fatal to the X server
klauncher(2881) kdemain: No DBUS session-bus found. Check if you have started the DBUS server.
kdeinit4: Communication error with launcher. Exiting!
kdmgreet(2875)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*): KSystemTimeZones: ktimezoned initialize() D-Bus call failed:  "Not connected to D-Bus server"

kdmgreet(2875)/kdecore (K*TimeZone*): No time zone information obtained from ktimezoned
(II) AIGLX: Suspending AIGLX clients for VT switch
So I assume my dbus is broken. But it seems to run according to systemd. (But i don't trust Lanner these days anymore)...

Code: Select all

dbus.service - D-Bus System Message Bus
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib64/systemd/system/dbus.service; static)
   Active: active (running) since So 2014-11-09 15:28:58 CET; 21min ago
     Docs: man:dbus-daemon(1)
 Main PID: 1785 (dbus-daemon)
   CGroup: /system.slice/dbus.service
           └─1785 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --system --address=systemd: --nofork --nopidfile --systemd-activation
/etc/conf.d/xdm has set "displaymanager=kdm"

Fluxbox and XBMC are working without problems. The error messages above appear as soon as I quit fluxbox or XBMC. So directly after X-server restart.

What the hell is broken?
Last edited by Freier Radikaler on Sun Nov 09, 2014 18:51, edited 1 time in total.

fbaggins
Young Hen
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:34

Re: Kde stopped workig after upgrading

Post by fbaggins » Sun Nov 09, 2014 18:47

Same here

Freier Radikaler
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 16:12

Re: Kde stopped workig after upgrading

Post by Freier Radikaler » Sun Nov 09, 2014 18:51

Good to know :-). I tried nearly everthing. But it isn't possible to get it working again -.-.
If I would know which package triggers this I could downgrade it using portage or so. It was working before -.-.

Freier Radikaler
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 16:12

Re: Kde stopped workig after upgrading

Post by Freier Radikaler » Sun Nov 09, 2014 19:17

viewtopic.php?f=53&t=32126

Adding /usr/bin/krandrstartup will get it working again. So [email protected]
Hopefully the weekly-updates are fixed sooner than in one week... :roll:

fbaggins
Young Hen
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 9:34

Re: Kde stopped workig after upgrading

Post by fbaggins » Sun Nov 09, 2014 20:03

Thanks that's fixed it

Post Reply