Page 1 of 2

Multiple DE

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2013 21:36
by Beerforfree
Any tips how to have 2 DEs like Gnome and KDE installed and choose them by Session

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 0:03
by cmost
You can have any number of DEs installed. Simply select the one you want from the logon screen (e.g., KDM or GDM) before typing your password.

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 16:39
by Beerforfree
You mean I only need to install a new DE using equo and every thing is done without any additional intervention?
thanks

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2013 22:17
by cmost
More or less. For example, I wanted to try out Cinnamon. I downloaded the packages (and dependencies) from Sulfur; logged out and viola! Cinnamon was available as a DE in the sessions drop-down in KDM. It's easy! :D If you don't like the new DE, simply go back to Sulfur (or Rigo, whatever package manager you like) and remove it.

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 1:39
by albfneto
i use multiple DEs.

in almost all the cases, you may install the packages of the DE, using RIGO or equo command, then reboot and acess o your new DE.

in Sabayon this is easy, and pratically without conflicts.

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 4:56
by Beerforfree
What's about removing one, after a while I decide to remove Gnome following the instruction on the wiki
now I get a logon for localhost.localdomain and I have no clue which he login/passwd are.

Is there a way to get in with a default user?
su, root, etc no one did work

If I choose Advanced options for Sabayon when booting and then recovery mode I'm able to login as root, but I don't know how to go forth and can't see my original home directory as regular user. Can it be that reoving a DE deletes user files as well?

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:09
by matuss
Removing DE can't remove your files. At most, it can delete it's own configuration.

Use same user and password as before, users and passwords should be unaffected.

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Wed Jul 31, 2013 12:59
by life-on-mars
albfneto wrote:i use multiple DEs.

in almost all the cases, you may install the packages of the DE, using RIGO or equo command, then reboot and acess o your new DE.

in Sabayon this is easy, and pratically without conflicts.
I tried to install Cinnamon on Sabayon MATE, as well and XFCE4 on a Sabayon Gnome, and it didn't really work out the way I thought. Cinnamon doesn't have a meta package and I ended up with an incomplete installation, and the XFCE4 meta package is lacking basic components (such as the audio mixer plugin for the task bar).

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:21
by Beerforfree
I got with the issue, there is a config file for the display manager in which I made a typo wrote xdm instead of lxdm
DISPLAYMANAGER="lxdm"

what make me wonder is that accessing through the sabayon recovery mode a lot of stuff isn't mounted, that's the reason why I couldn't see my home. Is there a reason that for?

Re: Multiple DE

Posted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:21
by Beerforfree
I got with the issue, there is a config file for the display manager in which I made a typo wrote xdm instead of lxdm
DISPLAYMANAGER="lxdm"

what make me wonder is that accessing through the sabayon recovery mode a lot of stuff isn't mounted, that's the reason why I couldn't see my home. Is there a reason that for?