XFCE overlapping windows difficult

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
bobmc
Young Hen
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:26

XFCE overlapping windows difficult

Post by bobmc » Wed May 15, 2013 3:56

XFCE application windows have no vertical borders. This is confusing when several windows are open.

The desktop can be improved by adding window borders or some kind of shading.
Sabayon 14.07+ (XFCE), Zotac ION330, Zotac ION220, HVR-1950, 950Q

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: XFCE overlapping windows difficult

Post by wolfden » Wed May 15, 2013 8:56

XFCE has window borders by default so something must be goofy with your graphics. Gonna need to check logs to see what is going on.

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8096
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XFCE overlapping windows difficult

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu May 16, 2013 11:53

bobmc, can you post a screenshot showing us the Xfce windows without vertical borders? Have you tried changing the Xfce themes via Applications Menu > Settings > Window Manager, and the colours via Applications Menu > Settings > Appearance? If none of those help or are to your taste, you can download other Xfce themes from the Web (see e.g. http://xfce-look.org/).

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8096
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: XFCE overlapping windows difficult

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu May 16, 2013 14:27

Actually, I've just discovered XFCE-LOOK.ORG - Xfce-Theme-Manager which is a super application that makes management of themes and appearance much easier in Xfce. The home page is at Xfce Theme Manager. It's not in the Entropy repository but is easy to install via Portage:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password:
# equo install git
# emerge --sync
# layman -S
# layman -a sabayon
# layman -a sabayon-distro
# emerge -1v xfce-theme-manager
# exit
exit
$
An entry is automatically inserted in Applications Menu > Settings. Nice application!

Post Reply