Compose key not working [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Compose key not working [Solved]

Postby King_DuckZ » Thu Nov 08, 2012 19:48

Hello, I've just made a clean install on my new SSD and I'm trying to configure my system as the old one. I've set the keyboard layout to programmer dvorak (dvp), but the compose key doesn't work anymore. Though on the previous install it worked just fine. I've set the </> key to be the compose key, so here is my kxkbrc:
Code: Select all
[Layout]
DisplayNames=dvp,
LayoutList=us(dvp),it
LayoutLoopCount=-1
Model=pc104
Options=compose:102,terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp,lv3:ralt_switch,numpad:shift3,keypad:atm,misc:typo
ResetOldOptions=true
ShowFlag=false
ShowLabel=true
ShowLayoutIndicator=true
ShowSingle=false
SwitchMode=Global
Use=true


Yesterday, I don't know what happened, it started to work all of a sudden (possibly after switching the layout from the tray icon), but today I can't get it to work anymore :/ I know this is kde voodoo magic but... any help please?

Edit: just to be sure, I pasted the old configuration over the new one, so this is exactly the same config I had on my previous install of Sabayon.
Last edited by King_DuckZ on Tue Nov 13, 2012 17:29, edited 1 time in total.
King_DuckZ
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 0:46

Re: Compose key not working

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Nov 09, 2012 11:00

Not sure, but you could check to see if IBus is installed and, if it is, uninstall it to see if that helps (see e.g. Re: Typing in Sabayon [Solved]).
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Compose key not working

Postby King_DuckZ » Tue Nov 13, 2012 16:18

Heh thanks for helping, honestly I didn't expect anyone to reply to this.
Strangely enough, it's been a couple of times the compose key just works. No action on my side. Just for info, ibus 1.4.2 is installed.
Hopefully, it will keep on working!
King_DuckZ
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 0:46

Re: Compose key not working

Postby King_DuckZ » Tue Nov 13, 2012 16:45

Ok, apparently I only get this problem in KDE programs, so it never really worked, sorry for the confusion. Compose key does work in Opera and Pidgin, but not in Konsole, Kate or the test box in the input configuration. If I try to remove --deep ibus I get a prompt for removing the following packages:
Code: Select all
>>  ## [sabayonlinux.org] dev-python/notify-python-0.1.1-r2 [39.1kB]
>>  ## [sabayon-weekly] kde-base/kdeplasma-addons-4.9.2 [12.9MB]
>>  ## [sabayon-weekly] app-i18n/ibus-1.4.2 [4.9MB]
>>  ## [sabayonlinux.org] dev-libs/qoauth-1.0.1 [1.1MB]
>>  ## [sabayonlinux.org] dev-python/pyxdg-0.23 [128.6kB]
>>  ## [sabayonlinux.org] app-i18n/scim-1.4.14 [7.1MB]

Specifically what happens when I hit the <compose>-accent-e sequence, for example, is that I get "`e", so as if I never pressed the compose key (same result in opera for the accent-e sequence). Instead, the correct behaviour is to get an "è".
Any other advice?
King_DuckZ
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 0:46

Re: Compose key not working

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Nov 13, 2012 16:54

equo remove --nodeps --ask ibus
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Compose key not working

Postby King_DuckZ » Tue Nov 13, 2012 17:28

Thought that... but then wouldn't those packages break due to a missing dependency? And cause ibus to get re-installed whenever I run deptest?
Btw that fixed the problem, so I'm marking the thread as solved. Thanks!
King_DuckZ
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 0:46

Re: Compose key not working [Solved]

Postby tsvd » Fri Nov 16, 2012 16:22

I wouldn’t really call it solved, it’s quite a problem for people who *do* need IBus—and deinstallation isn’t really necessary, you just have to make sure it’s not running afaik.
Yesterday or the day before on IRC I talked to someone who used KDE and razorqt and had no problem using IBus and the compose key by the way.
[15:48:16] <mynick> otheruser: do you use the compose key by the way?
[15:48:34] <otheruser> for non-chinese imput yes
[15:48:48] <mynick> Does it play well with fictx in non-Gtk applications?
[15:49:13] <otheruser> i dont use mixed input, so it works fine
[15:49:15] <mynick> Because in Gtk applications using both IBus and compose key is no problem, but outside of it it is
[15:49:51] <otheruser> i'm currently trying out ibus on kde on sabayon, no problems
[15:50:14] <mynick> hm
[15:51:05] <otheruser> i dont like compiling too much on my laptop, so i switch between sabayon+kde and gentoo+razorqt
[15:52:03] <mynick> I just recently installed Sabayon, I wanted to install an OS and I wanted to get some sleep in too
[15:52:24] <mynick> So I opted for that instead of the long straight Gentoo install process
[15:52:36] <otheruser> i use AltGr to trigger compose
[15:52:45] <mynick> I use righr win
[15:52:46] <mynick> right*
[15:53:19] <mynick> So I still have that
[15:53:24] <otheruser> but yeah, when switch on ibus for chinese input, compose doesnt work
[15:53:44] <otheruser> i have to switch back to regular input
[15:53:52] <mynick> yeah
[15:53:57] <otheruser> tho possibly that is configurable
[15:53:58] <mynick> In Gtk it works fine though
[15:54:11] <mynick> Well, as long as IBus is not active
[15:54:19] <mynick> But it can be running
[15:54:37] <mynick> Of course once the IME is active the compose key will not work
[15:54:48] <otheruser> ah i see
[15:54:57] <otheruser> well, then it works for me in Qt too
[15:55:03] <mynick> hm
[15:55:30] <mynick> Not in programs like xterm though, then?
[15:55:38] <mynick> Any non-gtk and non-qt program
[15:55:56] <otheruser> lemme see, do i have anything like that?
[15:56:36] <otheruser> yes, works in xterm too
[15:56:55] <mynick> compose key too? while ibus is running?
[15:56:59] <mynick> hm
[15:57:12] <mynick> What have I been doing wrong these years then
[15:57:14] <otheruser> yes, ibus running but not active, compose works as intended

Nicks redacted for privacy. I guess it doesn’t really belong in this thread, but I thought I’d mention that seemingly, IBus and compose key are not necessarily enemies in Qt.

EDIT: however, to solve the problem with ibus coming back after deptest, you can mask ibus in entropy. Edit /etc/entropy/packages/package.mask and add app-i18n/ibus
When you run deptest, it will say it will install ibus, but after the countdown to 10, it will just say “No packages found.”
tsvd
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2012 21:11


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron