Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

klochkovg
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:24

Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by klochkovg » Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:38

Yesterday I updated to Gnome 3. Failsafe mode works just fine but in case of Gnome shell it behaves strange. It doesn't show the changes of picture without forcing to do so. For example if I type something in gnome-terminal I don't see what I type, but I can see it after changing window with Alt+tab.
I suspect I didn't installed all necessary packages or it is something related to mutter. In addition activity menu works very very slow.
How I can try to understand what happens? Or any other clues?

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by micia » Sun Aug 07, 2011 21:42

Hi klochkovg, welcome to the Sabayon Linux Community :mrgreen:

Could it be that you are using the ATI proprietary drivers (fglrx)?

jaguar1637
Simple Hen
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 9:11
Location: Toulouse - France

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by jaguar1637 » Mon Aug 08, 2011 22:26

Yep, the same for me
I got ATI drivers on the SOny VAIO

I would definitivly want to go back for Gnome 2.

But it seemed not possible at first glance

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by micia » Mon Aug 08, 2011 22:39

ATI is known not to work on Gnome Shell, if you have ATI proprietary drivers do not use Gnome Shell until this bug:
http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=99
Gets fixed.

You can enable the fallback mode by default and you will get something similar to Gnome 2 (and a working desktop under fglrx drivers).

klochkovg
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:24

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by klochkovg » Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:16

I had an nVidia driver but after upgrade to version 275.09.07 it works fine. So it can be some problem there. May be the same for ATI drivers.

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by micia » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:39

Usually nvidia-drivers have no issue whatsoever with Gnome3, maybe there was a buggy version of the Nvidia drivers that was giving problem to Gnome Shell and with the newer release it has been fixed :)

raifi1234
Simple Hen
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 14:08

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by raifi1234 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 20:32

I am using nVidia driver 275.09.07 on a 64-bit-System.
Updating to Gnome 3 I see that sound is only working
for root.

Which programs need more rights to work for normal users?

micia
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41
Contact:

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by micia » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:29

Audio should not work only for root, it is not a priviledged action to just listen to music :P
Is there any useful error message in:
.xsession-errors
in your user's home directory or in:
/var/log/messages
(you have to be root to read this log file)

raifi1234
Simple Hen
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 14:08

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by raifi1234 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 20:15

Sorry, but there is no error concerning sound any more.

On the other hand: Why does my nVidia Geforce 6600 not work
with the Gnome3 desktop?

I am only shown a normal desktop (view).

Crypto_ahash
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 13:06

Re: Strange behaviour of Gnome 3

Post by Crypto_ahash » Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:01

raifi1234 wrote:Sorry, but there is no error concerning sound any more.

On the other hand: Why does my nVidia Geforce 6600 not work
with the Gnome3 desktop?

I am only shown a normal desktop (view).
Have you installed gnome-shell?

Code: Select all

eqou install gnome-shell
Image

Post Reply