White Screen using compiz

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

White Screen using compiz

Postby pacman » Mon Jun 27, 2011 18:45

well , i see compiz is in sabayon distro ,good , but when i run it , it bugs with a white screen .

i download the latest drivers for my ati card on the repository , but nothing change .

this my xorg.conf
Code: Select all
Section "Module"
    SubSection  "extmod"
       Option    "omit xfree86-dga"
    EndSubSection
    Load    "i2c"
    Load    "ddc"
    Load    "vbe"
    Load    "dri"
    Load    "glx"
    Load    "synaptics"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
     Option    "AllowMouseOpenFail"    "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier    "Generic Monitor"
    VertRefresh    43 - 60
    HorizSync      28 - 80
EndSection


Section "Device"

    Identifier  "SabayonVga0"
    Driver      "ati"
    #BusID    "PCI:01:05"
    #Option "RenderAccel" "on"
    #Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    #Option "BusType" "PCI"
    #Option "ColorTiling" "on"
    #Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
    Option "UseEvents" "True"
    Option "LogoPath" "/usr/share/backgrounds/sabayonlinux-nvidia.png"

EndSection
   


Section "Screen"

    Identifier    "Screen 0"
    Device        "SabayonVga0"
    Monitor       "Generic Monitor"
    #Option       "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

    DefaultDepth 24

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth      8
        ViewPort   0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth           16
        ViewPort        0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

    SubSection "Display"
        Depth           24
        ViewPort        0 0
        #Modes      "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection

EndSection


Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier   "Main Layout"
    Screen 0    "Screen 0"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   #Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
pacman
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:41

Re: White Screen using compiz

Postby micia » Mon Jun 27, 2011 19:11

Please, use code tags for posting long text, I edited your message to make use of them.

Your xorg.conf indicates that you are using the open source ati drivers, to make use of the proprietary ones, you have to modify this line in the Device section:
Driver "ati"
to this line:
Driver "fglrx"

And ensure that you selected the ati profile in eselect:
(as root)
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set ati


Be careful though, you have to be sure that your card is supported by the proprietary ATI drivers.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest