Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
k4ph
Simple Hen
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 0:52
Location: Germany
Contact:

Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager [Solved]

Post by k4ph » Mon Jan 17, 2011 20:45

I just tried using lxdm instead of gdm as loginmanager.
It loads without problems, but when login into lxde, the networkmanager doesn't show up, so there is no network connection. With a Sabayon-LXDE Version from a stick I saw, that it is able there.
I tried loading manually the nm-applet --sm-disable - but the applet doesn't work, so I guess a background daemon is missing?
I tried enabling HAL in /etc/conf.d/xdm - but that wasn't the solution so far.
Does anyone know, what my mistake is, the missing step, that I'm not able to see?

Thanks in advance,

Karl
Last edited by k4ph on Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:50, edited 1 time in total.
[email protected] | [email protected] | http://c4ph.tumblr.com

User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8092
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager doesn't l

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jan 17, 2011 21:18

When you say the applet didn't work, what actually happened? Did it load and display the nm-applet icon with a little red box/dot? What error message do you get when you run nm-applet from a Terminal? Also, are you running nm-applet manually as root user or from your own account? If the former, try the latter.

k4ph
Simple Hen
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 0:52
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager doesn't l

Post by k4ph » Mon Jan 17, 2011 21:39

Fitzcaraldo,

if I start it from a terminal, the cursor appears in the next line, there is no output, nothing, not in a root session nor in a user session - and no, there appears no icon in the system applet.
But if I reenable gdm and restart the pc, everything runs normally, the network-manager applet is in the system tray (like now) and everything works fine.
[email protected] | [email protected] | http://c4ph.tumblr.com


joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2676
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager doesn't l

Post by joost » Mon Jan 17, 2011 23:50

behold, we was working out that problem.
http://gitweb.sabayon.org/?p=overlay.gi ... 315b66b9d8
Check out limbo updates.

Please report back if you still have issues.
:D
Image
My blog | Twitter | Please support Sabayon: Image

KairiTech
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 16:40

Re: Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager doesn't l

Post by KairiTech » Tue Jan 18, 2011 0:57

Could this in any way be the cause of me loosing all Internet access after the Sulfur update I did yesterday?

I have access booting from a DVD created from my molecule LXDE spin off of a daily AMD64 CoreCDX iso and that is how I was able to post this message. A reinstall brought back my Internet access. How will I know when I can runs a Sulfur update again without this happening?
Real geeks use RAID 0 - everything else is for wimps and no backup strategy is for nubies.

k4ph
Simple Hen
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 0:52
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Using LXDM as loginmanager, but networkmanager [solved]

Post by k4ph » Tue Jan 18, 2011 10:53

I just enabled limbo, updated everything (lxdm, kernel 2.6.37) - e voila, after a reboot, the network-manager applet was there in LXDE. Also I had internetaccess in a wmii session, so the problem is solved. :D

Thanks a lot,

Karl
[email protected] | [email protected] | http://c4ph.tumblr.com

Post Reply