Gnome panel not loading

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Gnome panel not loading

Postby brunox69 » Fri Dec 24, 2010 23:56

I'm Running Sabayon Gnome updated.
Hi i`m having some trouble with gnome, after some updates the gnome panel do not appear all the stuff like nm-applet runs (although i can`t see them) running it form terminal gives this message?

$ killall gnome-panel
$ gnome-panel
gnome-panel gnome-panel-screenshot
$ gnome-panel
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "gnomebreakpad": libgnomebreakpad.so: cannot open shared object file: Arquivo ou diretório não encontrado
Cannot register the panel shell: there is already one running.


When I run gnome panel from fluxbox it load with some erros
$ gnome-panel

(gnome-panel:11190): Gdk-WARNING **: gdkdrawable-x11.c:952 drawable is not a pixmap or window

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Failed to get pixmap 37748778,0,0

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Failed to get pixmap 37748778,69,0

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Failed to get pixmap 37748779,1402,0

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Failed to get pixmap 37748779,1434,0

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Failed to get pixmap 37748779,1569,0
** Message: Could not connect to session manager: Could not get owner of name 'org.gnome.SessionManager': no such name

** (gnome-panel:11190): WARNING **: Could not connect to session manager: Could not get owner of name 'org.gnome.SessionManager': no such name


Have anyone seen something similar?
brunox69
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 21:22

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby alonsoty » Sat Dec 25, 2010 22:21

Hi brunox69,
...my friend has the same problem with x86_64G and all the latest updates.
While on my machine I have no problem! :roll:

Do not know if this can help, but try to delete the old configuration of Gnome (I know it's a bit brutal ... but maybe helpful):

1. CTRL+ALT+F1 and login.

2. delete Gnome configuration folder and subfolder from your home by:
Code: Select all
rm -rf .gnome .gnome2 .gconf .gconfd

3. try reboot or CTRL+ALT+F7.

bye
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby brunox69 » Sun Dec 26, 2010 0:31

Thanks man now i have the panel again. but the Sabayon customization has gone, if I copy files that I deleted from a live cd is everything go back to Sabayon default?
brunox69
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 21:22

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby alonsoty » Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:55

Well, yes (though this too is a bit brutal)... :wink:
I hope it's not some setting that is poorly digested by the different versions of Gnome.

You can also return as before by selecting themes and fonts from System -> Preferences -> Appearance.
While set directly from the panel the original applets that were present..

Ciao
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby k4ph » Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:14

The original settings you can find in the folder /etc/skel, copy them from there to your home folder, but don't forget to take over the ownership of the files/folders via chmod after copying.
k4ph@irc.freenode.net | k4ph@twitter.com | http://c4ph.tumblr.com
k4ph
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 0:52
Location: Germany

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby alonsoty » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:25

True, I always forget this folder!

Thanks k4ph
alonsoty
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 20:39
Location: Marchesonia - Italy

Re: Gnome panel not loading

Postby negus73 » Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:28

alonsoty wrote:Hi brunox69,
...my friend has the same problem with x86_64G and all the latest updates.
While on my machine I have no problem! :roll:

Do not know if this can help, but try to delete the old configuration of Gnome (I know it's a bit brutal ... but maybe helpful):

1. CTRL+ALT+F1 and login.

2. delete Gnome configuration folder and subfolder from your home by:
Code: Select all
rm -rf .gnome .gnome2 .gconf .gconfd

3. try reboot or CTRL+ALT+F7.

bye

I had a same problem.
Solved in the same way!
Tnx
negus73
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:27


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests