Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby doobydave » Fri Feb 04, 2011 15:51

I recognize that window!

Not seen it for a while though. It doesn't appear in the menus and typing nvidia-settings (even as root) yields nothing
doobydave
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 16:49

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Feb 04, 2011 16:03

Do you have it installed? The package is named media-video/nvidia-settings.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby doobydave » Fri Feb 04, 2011 21:27

Ah, no it would appear not.

I shall install and report back.
doobydave
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 16:49

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby doobydave » Fri Feb 04, 2011 22:46

That appears to be much better. I'm not sure is all possible refresh rates are available, but I have a lot more choice.

Thanks for your patience.
doobydave
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 16:49

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby doobydave » Mon Feb 07, 2011 0:23

Does the nvidia-settings package not get installed by default when the OS installs the proprietary video card driver?
doobydave
Young Hen
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 16:49

Re: Screen resolution & refresh rate problem

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Feb 09, 2011 16:37

Well, it does if you install nvidia-drivers via Portage, but I can't check what Entropy does as I don't have access to a machine with Entropy on it at the moment. Why don't you check by uninstalling nvidia-settings, and then re-installing nvidia-drivers? Make sure you install the same version that you have currently got installed, though! If it doesn't, you might want to file a bug report. I haven't reinstalled nvidia-drivers on my nettop for ages, so I don't recall. As an aside, the AMD equivalent of nvidia-settings (amdcccle) has to be installed separately when one installs ati-drivers.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7984
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Previous

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest