How to install gnome??? [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

How to install gnome??? [Solved]

Postby andreas_g » Tue Jul 21, 2009 15:21

How can I install gnome desktop in my Sabayon 4.1(kde)?????
When i was using kubuntu I just gave " sudo apt-get install gnome " and kubuntu knew what to do!!!!
But, when I type(as root) " equo install gnome " in my Sabayon....... nothing happend!!!!
Which packages I need to install to have a gnome desktop??????????? :?: :?: :?:
Sorry for my bad english!!!!!!!
andreas_g
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 0:43
Location: /home/andreas/greece

Re: How to install gnome???

Postby Thev00d00 » Tue Jul 21, 2009 16:00

Did you not think to do

Code: Select all
equo search gnome


regardless:

Code: Select all
equo install gnome-meta
equo install gnome-light
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How to install gnome???

Postby andreas_g » Tue Jul 21, 2009 23:21

Of course I have try it!!!!!
But the list was endless, even when I type " equo search gnome | grep base "!!!!!!!!!!!! :!: :!: :!: And I confused!!!! :? :?
I finally install gnome by using suflur...........I install almost every package with the name "gnome" on it!!!!!!!
I know that was an idiot solution but I did not knew what to do!
Thanks you anyway!!! :wink:
Sorry for my bad english!!!!!!!
andreas_g
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 0:43
Location: /home/andreas/greece

Re: How to install gnome???

Postby wolfden » Wed Jul 22, 2009 0:15

Thev00d00 wrote:Did you not think to do

Code: Select all
equo install gnome-meta
equo install gnome-light


there is no meta package

for sure
equo install gnome-light
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: How to install gnome???

Postby wolfden » Wed Jul 22, 2009 0:16

andreas_g wrote:Of course I have try it!!!!!
But the list was endless, even when I type " equo search gnome | grep base "!!!!!!!!!!!! :!: :!: :!: And I confused!!!! :? :?
I finally install gnome by using suflur...........I install almost every package with the name "gnome" on it!!!!!!!
I know that was an idiot solution but I did not knew what to do!
Thanks you anyway!!! :wink:


I think you missed a ! in there
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron