Menu problems KDE 4.2.2 [Solved]

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Menu problems KDE 4.2.2 [Solved]

Postby dunsurfin » Mon Apr 13, 2009 19:58

I use the Classic Menu Style (can't be doing with all the extra clicking that Kickoff requires) but I have tried Kickoff and the same applies. The games menu has lost it's sub-menus and become a bit unmanageable. I have tried using the menu editor to add sub-menus and it claims to be updating the system configuration but nothing actually changes. So it's a double problem. The menu editor doesn't work and the menu is built incorrectly.

I don't know if this is specific to my system or a KDE bug or a Sabayon KDE bug. I've attached xsession-errors in case it offers any ideas to anyone.


Sabayon 4 x86 r1 (fully updated) running kernel 2.6.29 and KDE 4.2.2
Dell Inspiron 530 Intel Core 2 duo E8400 3.0Ghz 4.00 GB RAM
Nvidia Geforce 8500 GT 512MB RAM Dell S2309 23" widescreen monitor 1920x1080 @60Hz
Samsung HD 642JJ ATA 650 GB Optiarc DVD RW AD-7200 S ATA TST DVD ROM TS-H353B ATA
MS USB Dual receiver wirelss keyboard and mouse Onboard Realtek Audio
Last edited by dunsurfin on Wed Apr 15, 2009 18:10, edited 1 time in total.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby mobilehunter » Tue Apr 14, 2009 1:44

Just updated to revision 990.
My kde ugraded to 4.2.2.
All menu inside application tab are missing.
I cannot use search function too.
To run a program from desktop, right click and run command.
mobilehunter
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 22:46

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:18

mobilehunter wrote:Just updated to revision 990.
My kde ugraded to 4.2.2.
All menu inside application tab are missing.


Using the classic menu, all "Applications" are now "Other". There is definitely something wrong but I don't know if it's purely KDE 4.2.2 or the Entropy update of KDE to 4.2.2.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Apr 14, 2009 8:28

I don't know if there is a connection here but Kpowersave insists on starting each time I login despite being told not to and I wondered if there is a configuration file missing or, for some reason, not accepting changes. Can someone tell me where I can find the configuration file(s) that control(s) the menu and start up?
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby markych » Tue Apr 14, 2009 16:46

I have the same problems with 2 machines after upgrade world (with kde-4.2.2) x86 & x86-64.
1. Everything from applications menu was missing
2. Non-KDE programs such as spritz, firefox are missing some icons and main application icon (upper-left corner & taskbar) is displayed as standard/default X application icon.

Fixed menu by copying /usr/kde/4.2/etc/xdg/menus/kde-4.2-applications.menu to /etc/xdg/menus/applications.menu and exec
Code: Select all
kbuildsycoca4


Now still having problems with second item.. icons

Thanks,
Mark
markych
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 21:33

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Apr 14, 2009 17:38

markych wrote:Fixed menu by copying /usr/kde/4.2/etc/xdg/menus/kde-4.2-applications.menu to /etc/xdg/menus/applications.menu and exec
Code: Select all
kbuildsycoca4



Thank you. That has replaced my previous menu and the menu editor now works. I found that the edits I had unsuccessfully applied to the updated menu turned up in the replaced menu which seems to point the way to the cause of that problem.
I don't have the icon problem.
This appears to be a bug so I shall not mark it solved yet.
(Reported as bug 609)
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby wolfden » Tue Apr 14, 2009 21:05

Thanks for the bug report

:)
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby dunsurfin » Tue Apr 14, 2009 21:48

The bug is now reported as fixed but I had several error messages when using Entropy to install the updates for the fix. The attached file shows them. Do I need to concern myself about them?
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby red.hell » Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:58

I have the same problem

when I come back from work this evening I'll try to fix with markych tips
red.hell
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 14:38

Re: Menu problems KDE 4.2.2

Postby red.hell » Wed Apr 15, 2009 17:59

I've solved after today's update of kdelibs :)
red.hell
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 14:38

Next

Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest