Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby momocore » Sun Sep 14, 2008 22:24

Hi all,

I recently installed sabayon 3.5, then proceded to update gcc and a whole bunch of other items. But, I really don't want KDE 4.0.2 that comes pre-loaded. Apparently I inadvertently installed it. Is there an easy way to remove it? Or any of the other window managers for that matter? Unless i completely missed a post somewhere about this.

Thanks
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby WarraWarra » Mon Sep 15, 2008 0:13

Have to double check this info but I would install the other desktop gui and then switch to it from where I would use say equo or spritz / portato / emerge to remove KDE with and after this make sure to run something to verify no broken dependancy's.

Or download the 3.5POD ,install from it and customize what you need , would be a shame to have to download all the updates again , should be a way to copy them if not erased already and reuse them or some of them if going this route.

Someone will post a quicker way here just hang in there.
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby momocore » Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:08

Thanks...

I've got 3.5.9 running right now, and I'd rather stay with that until 4.1 is officially released. I'd really like to remove the bloat before I do a world update.

The only thing I can think of now is to do an emerge -C for each package that is in my package.unmask file (that pertains to kde-base). My main hangup, outside of having to key in each package name, is whether or not this will cause irreparable damage to dependencies
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby DontPanic » Tue Sep 16, 2008 14:26

I removed most of my KDE-4.0.x stuff in one pass with something like:
Code: Select all
emerge --prune -av =kde-base/kdelibs-4.0.2

You may have to adjust the version, depending on what came with SabayonLinux 3.5 (I have already deleted mine, so I forget the revision).

Make sure and use either --pretend or -a to review exactly what the command will do.

I have not seen anything broken since removing these packages.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby momocore » Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:58

Thanks DontPanic, but, unfortunately the --prune command didn't work. It pulled up everything fine, but it would not mark them for deletion. I ended up copying the list to a text editor, deleting the carriage returns, then threw and emerge -C in front of it. It's definitely far from an ideal solution.

Is there any way to have --prune select the packages for removal?
momocore
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 13:27

Re: Remove KDE 4.0.2?

Postby DontPanic » Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:41

Hhhmm, I could swear this used to work, but I'm getting the same behavior as you now.

Maybe I've just been using this command to make a list lately, in the same fashion you describe.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E6750@ 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM
DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron