Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Compiz, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, etc...

Moderator: Moderators

Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Genesis » Thu Jul 03, 2008 15:09

Hi guys,

My end goal here is to have 4 desktops with different wallpaper (one for each workable side of the cube) and icons on kde 3.5.9. I'm using Sabayon 3.5 stable, therefore Compiz 0.7.6 and it has the wallpaper plugin.
I have the Kdesktop transparency patch from http://www.kde-apps.org/content/show.php/KDesktop+transparency+support?content=59864 and am attempting to run through a howto I found here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=655326.

From reading the responses, a lot of people have had issues getting this to work. Add to that I'm not too familiar with patching source code, I'm a tad apprehensive about attempting this. It's moreso that I don't trust using an Ubuntu howto - as we don't use aptitude or apt-get etc. I'm assuming we can use emerge to grab the kdebase source and go from there.

I'd really like to know if anyone has actually attempted this with their sabayon install and/or if someone could 'translate' this howto into a sabayon one?
User avatar
Genesis
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:45
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Thev00d00 » Thu Jul 03, 2008 20:20

I have patched it and got it working.
Even better you can install it through Entropy!

From my Zenana thread:http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=13910
Image

1. Add the Zenana community repo, see: viewtopic.php?f=76&t=13910.
2. Install the zenana version of "kde-base/kdesktop-3.5.9-r4" (may require other packages, I recommend all kde-base packages and Qt) packages from Zenana
3. Download This script and put it in your ~/.kde3.5/Autostart Directory (remember to make it executable)
4. Set up compiz wallpaper plugin.
5. Logout and back in
6. Enjoy

Notes
- Kicker/fake transparency will not work correctly
- Some people have reported issues with the zenana patches, use at your own risk, I have it installed here (i made that screenshot) and its rock solid :D.
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Genesis » Fri Jul 04, 2008 2:07

Hi v00d00,
Thanks for your quick reply. I've put your repository line in my repositories.conf, and when I equo update I get a message saying:
>> Repository zenana hasn't been downloaded yet.
>> Repository zenana is not available. Cannot validate
I'm assuming that this is because I'm running the x86 version of sabayon and it's attempting to find that folder rather than the amd64 folder. I have a 64 bit processor, I should probably just grab the x86-64 version of sabayon.

In the mean time, I could just compile the kdebase files manually. You've suggested to install kdesktop-3.5.9-r4, but I can only see the r1 version. Is that what you mean or is the file missing currently?
User avatar
Genesis
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:45
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Thev00d00 » Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:33

you will need to add the arcon overlay (google it)

good luck :D make sure you use the transparency use flag :D
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Komet » Fri Jul 11, 2008 21:32

Just if anybody is wondering how to make konsole transparent with these patches (by default konsole uses only fake-transparency):
"konsole --real-transparency" :wink:
Komet
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 20:35
Location: Halle (Saale) / Germany

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby v3ss0n » Sat Jul 19, 2008 18:38

I got the acron overlay , How to get them from entropy? Packagename?
v3ss0n
Young Hen
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 20:26

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Thev00d00 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 17:16

v3ss0n wrote:I got the acron overlay , How to get them from entropy? Packagename?


If your on x86-64 you can add Zenana and get the binaries from there, If you are on x86 install the arcon repo and emerge the kde-base/kdesktop ebuild within it with the transparency use-flag
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby aryan8727 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 18:58

everybody is saying about patching the kdebase....
but i'm a beginner how to do it....
and my sabayon cannot connect to net... so is it possible to use zenena...
aryan8727
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:43

Re: Patching kdebase for transparency support.

Postby Thev00d00 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 20:19

You will need a net connection to download either the source and patches or the packages from binaries from Zenana
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom


Return to 3D Desktops and Window Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests